Mom's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
omg SOOOO GOOD!!! will definately make over and over again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This recipe was good. I used frozen mixed veggies instead of just the green beans. I added onion & garlic to the ground beef. Sharp cheddar cheese on top of the mashed potatoes the last 5 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
Good base recipe. I made this for my husband and me, so I decreased the amount of extra lean ground beef, and I did make the following alterations: more spices while browning beef (pepper, cayenne pepper, onion powder, garlic powder), chopped onion and minced garlic while browning. For the veggies I used a bag of frozen mixed veggies I had, used whole wheat flour, and no extra salt, and more than a dash of worcestershire sauce. For the tomato sauce I used ketchup, because I had no cans of sauce, I just added what I thought looked like enough. Lastly for the potatoes I used less, did not peel, and made my version of mashed potatoes with fat free sour cream/milk, then topped the whole thing with a little bit of extra sharp cheddar cheese --I put everything in and 8X8 pan, baked covered for 25 mins, then broiled for the last 4 and it was delicious! No leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
It was very good, but I didn't really follow the recipe too closely. Instead of green beans, I added a bag of mixed frozen veg. Everything else I kept the same and my husband and I thought it was good, but I will use less potatoes and more meat and veg next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I had to add Sharp Cheddar to make this recipe complete- I love the crispy melted cheese on shepherd's pie- for me that makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Byrd Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Of course I changed a few things, we use ground turkey instead of beef in all our meals. I had these two cans of mashed sweet potatoes, don't know why....guess I bought the wrong thing. I had some leftover Alfredo Ssuce...din't want tomatoe with sweet potatoes. And Huby said it was a "keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I'm giving this 3 stars because it is a great base to do what you like with. I did not make this canned vegetables, I used fresh. I also substituted the ground burger for half burger/half soy "burger" (I swear, you cannot tell the difference!). The sauce and seasonsing for the meat were excellent. I will use this for my base recipe from now on. Cooking times were just about perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I found it somewhat bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I didn't have green beans so I used corn. I also used dried parsley because I didn't have the fresh stuff. With those minor changes, the recipe was still wonderful. The best part is the way the ground beef is seasoned - very flavourful. I nice twist on a classic dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was good. Even though I knew what Shepherd's Pie was and had seen it many times, for some reason I never got around to trying to make it myself until now. My kids liked it, too! I didn't add the flour and water -- the kids were all in the kitchen with me, and I didn't notice I'd skipped that step until I was putting it on the table. (So nice to have kids to blame it on, huh?) I'll be sure to try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States