Mom's Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by My Dog Is My Audience
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Put Mayo or Some Eggs in your Mashed Potatoes to make a Fluffier, Tastier Crust. I put in lots of garlic.I also add cream of mushroom and beef stock to the meat. Love Shephard's Pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My Dog Is My Audience

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This recipe was a huge hit with my family. I usually struggle in the kitchen but this was so easy to make and everyone went back for seconds! I made it a few days ago and my family is already asking when we can have it again. I really liked the onion soup mix added in, I think it adds a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I'm a sucker for Shepherd's Pie - it just about sums up the kind of food I love most and this recipe totally delivers. Since I've lately become a big fan of red pepper flakes, I added a goodly dash into the meat base for a little tang. Blended shredded cheddar into the potatoes, too. Again - this pie is delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Wonderful! I added tomato sliced on top of the meat mixture before adding the potatos and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
not firm enough. Less tomato sauce and don't precook as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Whole family liked it, even my finicky 10-year old. She didn't even smother it in ketchup :-) I used mixed veggies instead of green beans, but that was the only modification. 9 potatoes is just the right amount
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
very bad, felt like I was eating cafeteria food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
This was super easy to put together and easy to adjust to personal tastes. Everyone from my 2 year old to my 10 year old loved it! Thanks for a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was delicious. Added garlic, onion powder, salt and pepper to the meat and also corn. To the mashed potatos i added milk butter onion powder, salt and pepper. Topped everything with cheese. 5 Minutes before it's done mix milk and melted butter and bast the top. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was not my favorite, but it was a hit with my husband, so the rating is mostly off of his opinion. Maybe it is because I used lamb instead of beef...I wanted to be as traditional as I could. Now, instead of green beans, I used a bag of mixed veggies. Everything else was the same. He really enjoyed it and so did his coworkers. I calculated the servings for just the 2 of us, but clearly this dish is not made for just a couple of people because it turned out to be a huge casserole. Next time, I think I will try it with beef...maybe that will be a better choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vkbarrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States