Mom's Seafood Pasta Salad for a Crowd Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I really liked this pasta salad. I get so tired of the Italian dressing pasta salads. I didn't give it five stars, because I made some changes based on my family's personal tastes. Here are the changes I made: ~ substituted imitation crab for the tuna ~ Western Dressing (aka "cow dressing") for the French dressing ~ No mayo...I added more thousand island dressing ~ added black olives and corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Had twenty people over for a BBQ and this salad was a big hit. I was asked by several people for the recipe. Will make this for other events I cook for. Thanks for the recipe NOLLEEZ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
A simple recipe to make and everyone at our thanksgiving loved it. I added crab meat and some spices to it but it turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Great starter salad but some changes seemed to make it better. Too dry for 16 servings, so figured on only 8 so only used 1 lb of pasta. But once made, there was plenty for more! For the dressing, I increased mayo to 2 cups, then used 1/2 cup Italian Dressing (Bernstein) & 1/2 cup Catalina (you can play around with other dressings too) & I added 1.5 Tablespoons of Old Bay, as other's have done. Mixed all together and used 1/2 of the mix on the cooked pasta. Let chill for 3 hrs, then added the seafood & the rest of the dressing mix. I only used 1 can of Albacore Tuna (drained), 1 lb of fresh salad shrimp, and added a package of immatation crab (shredded). I also added 2-3 cups of shredded Mozzarella cheese. And it does get better each day, YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Studio City, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is a great recipe. People frequently ask me to make this salad. And it's fairly easy to make too. I normally use 1/2 lb of salad shrimp (from the frozen section) instead of the canned shrimp. Sometimes I'll add a little bit of Old Bay seasoning. One time I did not green onions so I substituted chopped sweet onion, and it did not turn out as well. Stick with the green onion. Also, when I mix the ingredients, I start by combining the mayo and the tuna at the bottom of the bowl so that I can mix it well. Then I add the pasta and other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I make it the same way, but only mayo and not the dressings. Never thought of that. I will have to try it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caron

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Deptford, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Everyone at the potluck I brought this to, was asking for some to take home with them. I added 16oz. of imitation crab meat. I could have done w/o the tuna, but that is just my personal preference. I also made a batch w/ fat free dressings and fat free miracle whip, perfect for my diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang0331
Home Town: Newaygo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
Pretty good - the longer it stays in the fridge the better it tastes IMO.Something is missing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States