Mom's Sausage Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I love this! Instead of brushing with egg mixture I used garlic butter. Adds a lil flavor. It's great with sausage or without by adding veggies: onion, peppers and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
My sister made this yesterday for Sunday brunch. She baked it first thing in the morning, then gave it 5-10 minutes in a hot oven just before serving.(Maybe it could be made the night before?) It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hill, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This was a very big hit! I served it for brunch, and would definitely do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Our daughter made these for our Sunday School class on Mother's Day. Everyone enjoyed them and requested the recipe! Staci is a novice cook and she did an outstanding job. I had her crush a box of stove top dressing instead of adding the biscuit mix and added finely grated cheese. The dressing gave it more flavor and the finely grated cheese incorporated into the mixture easier. We had a few left over and they heated up well in the micro-wave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Barnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
These were a big hit with the guys for a type of breakfast sandwich at the football game. They travelled really well too which was great. I used refrigerated french bread cans which saved having to thaw and roll out the dough. I added sauteed red bell pepper which added great color and flavor. I used mozzarella, Italian three cheese blend, Italian sausage and a sprinkling of oregano. I didn't use the amount of cheese/eggs suggested and I had more then enough filling. I may turn the oven down and cook for longer next time; the outside was beginning to get dark brown when the inside was still doughy. (Any suggestions anyone??) Delicious - Thanks Jo Ann!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
This is a fantastic recipe! My mother-in-law taught me how to make this, and it's always a hit. Either a snack, or a meal in itself. She would use mozzarella instead of provelone, and would use Italian Sausage as the base. She would also kick it up by adding parmesan or romano cheese to the sausage-cheese mixture. The more, the more decadant. Can also make with frozen spinach in lieu of sausage. Basically, a mini calzone and oh so yummy. Don't be afraid to add oregano. This freezes well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This turned out very well. I made my own bread dough, added onion & garlic when browning the sausage, and left out the pepperoni since this was for breakfast. Very easy to make, thanks Jo Ann for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Great! Made some without cheese and some with because my picky eater doesn't like cheese. They were great after school snacks for teenagers! To make in a smaller batch, I used frozen rolls. Rolled each into a circle after thawing and filled, crimping edges to make individual pockets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
We liked this pretty well. I did add onion to cook with the pork and a little pepper to the eggs. I wasn't crazy about the pepperoni, so I will just leave it out next time. I brushed with butter instead of egg. Thanks Rose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I took two of these to a breakfast and only a few pieces were left. Everyone seemed to love it. I think maybe a bit less bread, but otherwise quite good and very easy. This does taste good cold. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian “Sausage” Baby Back Ribs

These baby back ribs are rubbed with Italian sausage seasonings.

Easy Sausage Strata

This simple make-ahead breakfast strata stars sausage and Cheddar.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States