Mom's Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2001
I am a novice cook and this dish was delicious and SO easy to make. I cut down on the onion mix packets and just used 3 packets and will know better next time to go easier on the salt. I also added some red bell peppers to the sauce and it turned out thick and flavorful - will definitely make it again. Since I live alone I froze the rest but I'm looking forward to finally being able to invite friends over for dinner! I cooked it with a slow cooker, too, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
I thought is was easy and very tasty!! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
We love this sauce. I thought the four packages of onion soup mix was going to overpower the taste, but I was happily wrong. We really enjoyed this easy sauce. Thanks Sister!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
I halved the recipe and added a can of crushed tomatoes. I think next time I will half the recipe and use only 1 package of onion soup mix. It was a little bit too much onion with two packages. thanks for offering! Its great in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2004
This sauce was way too salty even for me and I love salt. I had only put in 3 packs of onion mix also so I could not imagine what a 4th would have tasted like. I ended up adding about 3/4 c of brown sugar to compensate for all the salt. Once I did that it was pretty good but still a little on the salty side...perhaps cut down the onion mix to 2 packets and no need to add any salt after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2004
This was pretty darn good...much better than my usual "buy it in a jar" method! I will definately add this to my recipe box. Next time I may add some mushrooms or other veggies - nice solid recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I added only 2 packages of the soup mix when I tasted it YIKES!!!! I added about 4 more cans of tomato product trying to dilute all that salt. DISGUSTING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
We have reviewed this recipe for errors, and it should actually call for only 1 package of onion soup mix. We apologize for the inconvenience!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAWARNE
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Didnt have the dry onion soup mix but it was still tasty. Added button mushroom and lots of diced yellow onion. Had it with vermicelli pasta. Yummmy! View pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAWARNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I have finally found a wonderful homemade sauce!! This recipe was PERFECT, I would not change a thing. At first I thought I wouldn't have enough sauce for a whole box of pasta, but as it turned out there was some leftover. YUM.... will definitely make this again. Very diet friendly for my weight watchers core plan too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States