Mom's Quick Pasta Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Easy recipe to make, but I was not impressed with the taste. I was not a fan of the onion soup mix (yes, I only used one packet). I also think the tomato paste overpowered the tomato sauce. If I make this again, I will definitely be changing some things around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Delicious and so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Way to salty for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milo1898
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I have been making the same recipe for years now but without the onion soup. Instead I sautee onions and green peppers in olive oil, the same as Melody aka Dumpling. I do not add the salami, though, but it does sound good. This is a basic recipe and once you have all of this made as the recipe calls for, you can add different ingredients to it. I love the easy, quick way this cooks up and it looks and tastes out of this world. And I thought I made it up! I guess others make it the same way I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Epuddle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Took the advice of Melody aka Dumplin' with the exception of the salami and sugar. Perfect sauce. The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Quick to make, tastes great, easy! Can't wait to try it in lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I have been looking for a good basic meat sauce recipe and this is the one! I made two changes in ingredients. I didn't add the salt because the onion soup mix had enough, and I added mushrooms just because I like them in meat sauce. I also ended up simmering the sauce for about an hour. Next time I will double the recipe because we like extra sauce and leftovers. This is a good sauce to add on-hand items. My husband wants to try it with some red pepper flakes next time for some spice. I think adding other veggies, wine, sausage might be good too, but it was still great per recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I have been making a sauce similar to this for many years, but this was excellent. I added one thing, 3 or 4 oz. of hard salami chopped very fine, it adds an interesting flavor to an already very good sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I use the same ingredients except I chop fresh onions and bell peppers instead of the onion soup mix, I use 2 cans of tomato sauce instead of one, I add a can of stewed tomatoes and I use dried Italian Seasoning instead of the Oregano (I do add additional dried Basil as the recipe suggests). It only takes an additional 5-7 minutes of prep time, but it makes all the difference in the world. Another secret of mine is to use Worcestershire Sauce while browning the ground beef and I sweat the onions and bell peppers in 2 tablespoons of Olive Oil before adding the meat to brown. This makes the meat so much more flavorful. Oh, and I would omit the water and add a teaspoon of sugar to cut the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I added 1 green pepper and 1 onion diced and sauteed in olive oil or canola oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

World's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato sauce for your favorite pasta.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States