Mom's Purple-Hull Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've had purple hull peas before and didn't like them. My in laws planted a huge garden this year and have a bumper crop of them. With much encouragement, I picked a mess and prepared them using this recipe, no changes. Yes, you guessed it, I love them! My mother -in-law is tickled pink, she didn't want to be the only one harvesting this crop! Thanks for the recipe:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Excellent, prepared just as written. Can't wait to cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Almost gave it four stars because I only put a teaspoon of sugar in them and they were plenty sweet enough. I didn't get to my greenhouse yesterday to pick my okra, so today they were 8 and 9 inches long. They grow so fast here that they were still tender and flavorful so I used them. This is my new favorite side dish. My 96 year old father who compares all my cooking to his mom's said, "Hey, these are really good." and came back for seconds. That's like winning the Pillsbury Cook-off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I didn't have any okra, and the only changes I made was doubling the sugar and soda. Can you say DEE-LISH-US! A very fresh tasting, slightly sweet dish that melted in our mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
These were good. I think though I am going to not put as much okra in next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
These are good, but need much more salt. I used Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I used fresh purple hull peas from my garden. I also use more sugar, like 1/8 cup. This is VERY good. I use Tony's more spice for the seasoning. At times, I use a drop or two of liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I alternated by leaving out the sugar and waited until the last 10 minutes to add the okra. I like mine to still be whole and with a little firmness. The smaller the okra the better. Goes well with pork loin, pork chops and cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyJean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Awesome flavor. Did not use okra, otherwise I followed the recipe. Fresh peas rule!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States