Mom's Purple-Hull Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Just picked purple hulls are the best. If you live in the south you can get them at local farmers market, road side stand or friend/family garden. Fresh tender baby okra pods are best. I leave out the sugar, baking soda and sub ham for bacon. Occasionally add some chopped onion to pot and top with chopped fresh ripe tomatoes/green tomato relish. Server with hot, buttermilk cornbread(stone ground white cornmeal) and fried chicken or pork chops. Comfort food from childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I alternated by leaving out the sugar and waited until the last 10 minutes to add the okra. I like mine to still be whole and with a little firmness. The smaller the okra the better. Goes well with pork loin, pork chops and cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyJean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Awesome flavor. Did not use okra, otherwise I followed the recipe. Fresh peas rule!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I used fresh purple hull peas from my garden. I also use more sugar, like 1/8 cup. This is VERY good. I use Tony's more spice for the seasoning. At times, I use a drop or two of liquid smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Delicious without the okra! Don't know about with the okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
These are good, but need much more salt. I used Splenda instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I didn't have any okra, and the only changes I made was doubling the sugar and soda. Can you say DEE-LISH-US! A very fresh tasting, slightly sweet dish that melted in our mouths.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
My family and I love this recipe!! My husband was eating it out of the pot. I added Okra a little later and also more salt. Instead of bacon, I used ham hocks - just as delicious :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Used fresh purple hull peas bought at the farmers market. Followed the receipe exactly, except left out the okra - don't like slimy okra! Peas were fantastic and yummy! Served with cornbread, grilled pork loin roast, fried okra and fried tomatoes....yummy summertime vege dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I've had purple hull peas before and didn't like them. My in laws planted a huge garden this year and have a bumper crop of them. With much encouragement, I picked a mess and prepared them using this recipe, no changes. Yes, you guessed it, I love them! My mother -in-law is tickled pink, she didn't want to be the only one harvesting this crop! Thanks for the recipe:))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States