Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My mom and dad love Chudleigh's pumpkin pie. I was unable to get that pie for Thanksgiving this year, so I went on the search for a reasonable facsimile, and this worked out perfectly! It is enough for two pies. I just bought the frozen pie crusts and they were really good. The other thing I did was buy canned pumpkin puree. It really is unnecessary to puree the pumpkin yourself. Instead of using four different spices, I used 2 1/2 teaspoons of Pumpkin Pie Spice and it was really good. This will save you money, since spices are expensive. All in all, I am really pleased with the recipe and found that you can do a very semi - homemade version that is cheaper and just as tasty as Chudleigh's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Great flavor and texture. I only used 2% milk instead of milk and cream. I pre-baked my pie crust so I wouldn't have a mushy bottom. I will be saving this recipe to make again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Incredibly delicious pumpkin pie recipe! I made the following changes: 1. Increase all spices by at least 50% (I am doubling mine next time) 2. Decrease oven temp by 25 degrees--your crust will love you for it! 3. USE A PIE CRUST SHIELD!!! I absolutely swear by them! I bought mine at Bed Bath & Beyond but I know I've seen them elsewhere. Your crust will come out golden and perfect EVERY TIME--not the least bit burnt! Under $5.00 apiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lange

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Not the worst pumpkin pie I've ever had. Even after adding more spices it still lacked flavour...probably because there is not enough sugar in the recipe either. Sugar to pumpkin should be somewhere around a 1:1 ratio for my tastes for a pie. Should have called mom for her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I misread the recipe & did 2 cans of pumpkin rather than 2 cups of pumpkin puree. I was worried it wouldn't come out & I think it tasted great! Cooked for quite a bit over the time it said. that's when I realized what I had done! Anyways, great pumpkin pie flavor! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I've made this pie during the holidays for 4 years. Always with rave reviews. As others have said, the filling is always enough for two pies. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Providence, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
very light tasting and delicious but somehow I ended up with enough filling for 2 pie crusts (with filling 3/4 to the top). Bonus I guess cos now I get 2 pies out of 1 recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I made this pumpkin pie a few years ago for Thanksgiving. Ever since that day I have been voluntold (volunteered/told) to make pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving AND Christmas dinners. This recipe is easy to make and has a WONDERFUL taste. The brown sugar adds to the wonderful flavor of this pie. I look forward to Thanksgiving even more now. Family, football, great food and GREAT pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Yummy!!! I made mini pumpkin pies with the Cream Cheese Tart Shell recipe also on this site. I was scared cause my mom has always made the pumpkin pies and this was my first time trying to do it on my own- had to introduce my Australian friends to the deliciousness of pumpkin pie! This recipe is huge! I halved it and it still made 24 full size tarts (I used a regular size muffin tin). I also live in Australia and discovered that they don't have canned pumpkin here, so I was brave and used a real pumpkin! Not difficult at all, and delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States