Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by wickedeyes
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
You CAN'T screw this one up! If you follow the directions exactly it will turn out perfectly I promise you. Tastes good, too of course! For even better results I recommend baking the pie shell for about 5-8 minutes by itself at 400 degrees F. Then turn oven down to 350 and bake entire pie for around 45 minutes. I substituted nutmeg/ginger/cloves with Pumpkin Pie Spice and it tasted even better! Let pie cool in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was fabulous! I doubled the spices based on other reviews and, for me, this was a mistake. I should have probably just made the recipe "as is" the first time. Even with the overloaded spices, it was the best pie I've had in a long, long time. I made homemade crust but used canned pumpkin. Today I'm making it again with my own baked pumpkin and I'm sure it will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Not too many people ate the pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving. Not sure if it was because this was my first pumpkin pie or because everyone was too full. I don't care for pumpkin pie, I made it for everyone else. Probably wouldn't make this again (easier just to buy one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This pie was sooo easy to make and super-yummy! I didn't have any cloves so I omitted those. Turned out perfect. Also, I ended up baking for 60 min. instead of the recommended 40-45. Everyone's oven is different so just keep a close eye on it! Will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Must use a 9" DEEP dish pie pan to hold all of the filling ingredients! Texture was less than perfect, would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I thought this was a fantastic pumpkin pie. I followed the directions with a small exception of adding just a tad less milk, probably didn't make a difference anyways. I has no problems with mine being watery or not setting up as some people mention in previous reviews. I loved that this recipe uses a lot of spice. I will make this recipe again. In the end, I used a deep dish and had extra mixture, like 1 1/2 cups leftover that I ended up tossing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie tasted amazing!! the only downside was that I doubled the recipe, then followed it to the "T" and it made WAY more then 2 pies: it made 5. i don't know what was different, but i won't ever be changing the quantity again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I loved this recipe!!! I really don't care for pumpkin pie, but my 4 year old son asked for it so I decided to try this recipe. It was REALLY good. He loves it. I made mini pies, much to my regret, since he is the only one that like pumpkin pie. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great Pumpkin Pie... Must try... The recipe is perfect just the way it is.. It does make two 9 inch pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
With all the positive reviews, I was disappointed with the end product. Used homemade pumpkin puree. Sorry to say it was a waste of time. The pie was edible, but NOT as a pumpkin pie. Very little pumpkin taste and too many spices. Filling is very runny (even after I used less liquid.....), however it did thicken up nicely. I have to mention the color: not very inviting. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States