Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was really good. I followed the recipe to a T. Thanks to Luv2cook, I got two pie pumpkins and steamed them to make my pumpkin puree. I doubled the cinnamon. Next time I will follow the oven temp, because it took too long in my microwave/convection oven and the bottom crust got too done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I don't know if I did something wrong, but this seemed to be runny. I wasn't thrilled with the texture, and my guests thought the spices were a bit much. I am not a huge pumpkin pie fan anyway, but I think I've tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Loved this recipe! We made these pies for thanksgiving and they were the best pumpkin pies ever. We did have to bake them a lot longer than the recipe said. About 45 min longer. I will use this one again! I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1/2 tsp. Also we added 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice to it just to make sure. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very good basic recipe, not enough spices (personal preference). I changed the amounts as follows: 1 tsp ground ginger, 1/2 tsp ground cloves, 1/2 tsp salt ad used 1 cup of milk rather than the 1 1/2 called for. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wickedeyes
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
You CAN'T screw this one up! If you follow the directions exactly it will turn out perfectly I promise you. Tastes good, too of course! For even better results I recommend baking the pie shell for about 5-8 minutes by itself at 400 degrees F. Then turn oven down to 350 and bake entire pie for around 45 minutes. I substituted nutmeg/ginger/cloves with Pumpkin Pie Spice and it tasted even better! Let pie cool in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was fabulous! I doubled the spices based on other reviews and, for me, this was a mistake. I should have probably just made the recipe "as is" the first time. Even with the overloaded spices, it was the best pie I've had in a long, long time. I made homemade crust but used canned pumpkin. Today I'm making it again with my own baked pumpkin and I'm sure it will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Not too many people ate the pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving. Not sure if it was because this was my first pumpkin pie or because everyone was too full. I don't care for pumpkin pie, I made it for everyone else. Probably wouldn't make this again (easier just to buy one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This pie was sooo easy to make and super-yummy! I didn't have any cloves so I omitted those. Turned out perfect. Also, I ended up baking for 60 min. instead of the recommended 40-45. Everyone's oven is different so just keep a close eye on it! Will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Must use a 9" DEEP dish pie pan to hold all of the filling ingredients! Texture was less than perfect, would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I thought this was a fantastic pumpkin pie. I followed the directions with a small exception of adding just a tad less milk, probably didn't make a difference anyways. I has no problems with mine being watery or not setting up as some people mention in previous reviews. I loved that this recipe uses a lot of spice. I will make this recipe again. In the end, I used a deep dish and had extra mixture, like 1 1/2 cups leftover that I ended up tossing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States