Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I like this recipe. This was my first attempt at baking pie! Since we had received several pie pumpkins from our local farm CSA, I wanted to try a pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkin puree. I've since made my third pumpkin pie, learning a few tips and making a couple slight modifications. 1. I use four whole eggs (why waste an egg white?). 2. I replaced the spices with 1.5 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice I got on the cheap (I don't like cloves anyway). 3. It helps to cook off some of the pumpkin puree water first, to keep the mixture from being too diluted and taking too long to bake. 4. Put an extra cookie sheet under the pie's rack in the oven and carefully pour the mixture into the pie crust in the oven, as it will be very full. The first time, I managed to carry it to the oven full without spilling, but it can be challenging. 5. Use your leftover heavy cream to make whipped cream (add powdered sugar and beat until fluffy). 6. Pie will be jiggly when finished, but the skin will show you it's not liquid. Be careful removing it from the oven, cool it at room temp, and be sure to plan on refrigerating it overnight (cover with plastic wrap) for best results. Add your homemade whipped cream and enjoy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XSarenkaX

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I got a lot of Acorn Squash and some butternut squash from my CSA. So I pureed that and added an equal amount of Pumpkin Pie Spice as the other spices and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Kay Hagen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
every one in the familly loves this recipe. I had my first piece of pumpkin pie for xmas last year and loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eliene M Rowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I did a pumpkin pie comparison (2 different pies) and this was a clear winner. It didn't seem to fare well when kept for more than a day or two, but really good, even with a good couple of inches depth of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
It was the very first pumpkin pie I have ever made. It was FANTASTIC. I don't like pumpkin pie very much, but I like this one. My husband loved it.I will make this recipe over and over again. I needs to cook longer by like 15 to 20 min. Plus it makes 2 pies already not 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
.I don't know if it was the pumpkin I used (Albertsons)..I ALWAYS use Libby..grabbed the wrong can (the dogs) ...anyway...it tasted AWFUL!! It had to be the pumpkin...the ingredients were ok...so...anyway...had to make my usual recipe which it always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Easy to make, light and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I really hate to give bad reviews but I have to tell the truth. This pie had a horrible texture, I baked it for a lot longer than it calls for and it was still mushy and somewhat watery. I would've given it more stars if it at least tasted right but it didn't. it leaves an odd after taste in the mouth. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
The flavor of this pie is excellent.At first I thought the cloves would be too powerful but all the spices worked together so wonderfully.I'm not good at pie crusts so I tried a shortbread pie crust and it tasted fantastic together.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Just incredible. I like to add a little apple pie spice on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camdenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States