Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is the best pumpkin pie I have ever had. This recipe adds a new element of flavor to the pie while still retaining that classic pumpkin pie taste. The new element of taste is almost egg custard-like and the texture of the pie is more fluffy. I made two pies, and in the second one, added approximately 1 additional cup of Pumpkin Puree. This reduced the egg custard-flavor and brought the pumpkin flavor to the forefront while still maintaining the fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
this tastes even better after a night in the fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
this pumpkin pie is very good, my mom said that it is very close to her grandmother's pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Very easy to make and DELICIOUS!!!! It does make a lot of filling, though. Enough for TWO pies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Doubled the recipe..thinking Id get three pies..ended up with 4. Which was a very good thing..they were basically inhaled. I used real pumpkin puree and followed others' advice as to draining overnight. The pies were very light and velvety. A must next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Middle Village, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Quite delicious but needed a few changes. I also made my pumpkin puree from scratch (baked and pureed pumpkin the day before and drained it overnight in the fridge). I also reduced the milk to 1 cup, and even with adding about 1.5x the spices listed, it still seemed like it needed a little more. Next time I'll definitely at least double the spices, but this recipe makes a very good base to start with to temper to your own tastes. Highly recommended with the butter crust off of this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARBUCKJB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is definitely the best pumpkin pie I've ever tasted (or made). Pumpkin pie is my favorite kind of pie, but even non-pumpkin pie lovers in my extended family raved about this one. I did end up with a little too much filling, so I just greased a loaf pan and poured the extra into it, baked it along with the pie, and ate it when it came out! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Loudon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Yummy! I did double the cinamon & I ground up fresh nutmeg. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I took "luv2cook"s advice posted on 10/02/06 and used real pumpkin for the first time. Super easy to make. This pie made two deep dishes. Followed the directions exactly (except sub'd the real pumpkin for the puree). I was the new "Betty Crocker" at the holiday gathering. This is now saved in my recipe box and will be a standard for Thanksgiving & Christmas. NO MORE PUMPKIN PUREE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Exquisite...Great Recipe.....Wanted to try a new pumpkin pie recipe and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 121-130 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States