Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe was great! I added an extra cup of pumpkin as recommended by others. The recipe was easy to make dairy free - I used 1 cup soy milk in place of the milk, and 1/2 cup Silk Soy Creamer in place of the heavy cream and it turned out FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving this year, everyone raved about the flavors the only thing I did different was grind my own cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graham Family Farm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this recipe for thanksgiving and it had so much more flavor than the other recipes that I have tried Ill stick with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
If you like traditionally flavored pumpkin pie, this is an excellent choice with a great balance of spices. However, I was disappointed with a couple of things. First, the uncooked pie filling is very soupy (not the thickness you expect from a pumpkin pie). It took over an hour to set in my oven at the temperature called for in the instructions. The other drawback is that the recipe, as measured, makes much more pie than can fit in a pie crust. I ended up pouring a lot of it down the drain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I cooked this for my Irish boyfriend's family as part of a Thanksgiving meal. Because I'm in Ireland and can't find canned pumpkin puree, I used real pumpkin. It was very easy to do, but because I only bought a section of the pumpkin (already de-seeded), I didn't have quite enough for 2 full cups. I read in other reviews to let it drain overnight, but I had to settle for letting it drain for several hours and then squeezing out the excess liquid. The mixture looked very watery before I baked it, but the eggs made it thicken up, and it turned out to be a really nice pie. I'll definitely use the recipe again. I used the no-roll pie crust found on this website, and that went well with it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is the best pumpkin pie I have ever had. This recipe adds a new element of flavor to the pie while still retaining that classic pumpkin pie taste. The new element of taste is almost egg custard-like and the texture of the pie is more fluffy. I made two pies, and in the second one, added approximately 1 additional cup of Pumpkin Puree. This reduced the egg custard-flavor and brought the pumpkin flavor to the forefront while still maintaining the fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
this tastes even better after a night in the fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
this pumpkin pie is very good, my mom said that it is very close to her grandmother's pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Very easy to make and DELICIOUS!!!! It does make a lot of filling, though. Enough for TWO pies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Doubled the recipe..thinking Id get three pies..ended up with 4. Which was a very good thing..they were basically inhaled. I used real pumpkin puree and followed others' advice as to draining overnight. The pies were very light and velvety. A must next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Middle Village, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States