Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I've made this pie during the holidays for 4 years. Always with rave reviews. As others have said, the filling is always enough for two pies. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Providence, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
very light tasting and delicious but somehow I ended up with enough filling for 2 pie crusts (with filling 3/4 to the top). Bonus I guess cos now I get 2 pies out of 1 recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mag

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I made this pumpkin pie a few years ago for Thanksgiving. Ever since that day I have been voluntold (volunteered/told) to make pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving AND Christmas dinners. This recipe is easy to make and has a WONDERFUL taste. The brown sugar adds to the wonderful flavor of this pie. I look forward to Thanksgiving even more now. Family, football, great food and GREAT pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Yummy!!! I made mini pumpkin pies with the Cream Cheese Tart Shell recipe also on this site. I was scared cause my mom has always made the pumpkin pies and this was my first time trying to do it on my own- had to introduce my Australian friends to the deliciousness of pumpkin pie! This recipe is huge! I halved it and it still made 24 full size tarts (I used a regular size muffin tin). I also live in Australia and discovered that they don't have canned pumpkin here, so I was brave and used a real pumpkin! Not difficult at all, and delicious flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
very good. I didn't have cream, so I used the French vanilla non-dairy creamer I had on hand. It worked! The pie took a lot longer to cook for me. It had an egg-ier taste than I'm used to, but I like that! I'd recommend it. And my family liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This recipie was a Godsend! I live in Sweden where they dont have canned pumpkin or evaporated milk... and this recipie does not call for either! You start with fresh pumpkins which are available and I can grow them too! Plus it was delicous,,, what more can you ask??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Håcksvik, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe was phenomenal!! I recently moved from the US to Australia where you cannot buy canned pumpkin so I took the liberty of buying a pumpkin, cooking and pureeing it. It turned out fabulous. I am a bit disappointed I didn't take pictures because the pies, which actually yielded 2 9 inch pies for me, was beautiful!! I would recommend a tab bit more nutmeg - to make it like grandma's, however, this was fab!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This pie is delicious. I also make my own pumpkin puree using fresh pumpkin. The spices and sweetness of the pie are perfect. My family ate this up soon after it came out of the oven. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Excellent pie! This is really good. I like my pie a bit sweeter and a bit spicier so I aded 1/4 cup sugar and did not use sugar in my crust, and doubled the spices. It set really well and I didn't add the third cup of pumpkin puree like some bakers said to do. It is not watery and tastes even better when eaten cold the next day. So good, thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is our family's pumpkin pie as well :-D We don't get canned pumpkin here in Sweden, so I use raw shredded pumpkin, and it is just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ket Jensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States