Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Needed more spice but my family still liked it. I will also try doubling the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Double the spices for sure and this is the best pumpkin pie you'll ever eat. I'll be making this every fall from now on. Thanks "Mom"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandraJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I thought it was one of the best pies I have had, could use just a touch more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Some one threw out my joy of cooking cook book, where I had all my recipes written and changed over the years.. I was so bummed.. I came to this site (as always) and knew I would find a good recipe.. this was awesome. I used light cream instead of heavy (calories) and it was awesome! not too sweet! perfect! thank MOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doree'
Home Town: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
My mom and dad love Chudleigh's pumpkin pie. I was unable to get that pie for Thanksgiving this year, so I went on the search for a reasonable facsimile, and this worked out perfectly! It is enough for two pies. I just bought the frozen pie crusts and they were really good. The other thing I did was buy canned pumpkin puree. It really is unnecessary to puree the pumpkin yourself. Instead of using four different spices, I used 2 1/2 teaspoons of Pumpkin Pie Spice and it was really good. This will save you money, since spices are expensive. All in all, I am really pleased with the recipe and found that you can do a very semi - homemade version that is cheaper and just as tasty as Chudleigh's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Great flavor and texture. I only used 2% milk instead of milk and cream. I pre-baked my pie crust so I wouldn't have a mushy bottom. I will be saving this recipe to make again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Incredibly delicious pumpkin pie recipe! I made the following changes: 1. Increase all spices by at least 50% (I am doubling mine next time) 2. Decrease oven temp by 25 degrees--your crust will love you for it! 3. USE A PIE CRUST SHIELD!!! I absolutely swear by them! I bought mine at Bed Bath & Beyond but I know I've seen them elsewhere. Your crust will come out golden and perfect EVERY TIME--not the least bit burnt! Under $5.00 apiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Lange

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Emporia, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Not the worst pumpkin pie I've ever had. Even after adding more spices it still lacked flavour...probably because there is not enough sugar in the recipe either. Sugar to pumpkin should be somewhere around a 1:1 ratio for my tastes for a pie. Should have called mom for her recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I misread the recipe & did 2 cans of pumpkin rather than 2 cups of pumpkin puree. I was worried it wouldn't come out & I think it tasted great! Cooked for quite a bit over the time it said. that's when I realized what I had done! Anyways, great pumpkin pie flavor! This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States