Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I rated this 5 stars because my husband said it was the best pumpkin pie he's ever had. I reduced the milk to 1 cup, and also made my own pumpkin puree - not hard, ladies! Get a pie pumpkin, remove the seeds, cut it up into 6 or 8 chunks, place it in a pan with 1/2" of water, cover with foil and bake at 375 degress for about an hour, or until a knife slides easily into the flesh. Let cool, and scrape the pumpkin away from the rind. Mash it up as best you can, then take other's advice and put the puree into a colander and let it drip into a bowl (cover the whole thing with plastic wrap and set it in the frig overnight). This should help avoid having such a watery pie like many have encountered. Also, once I combined the pie filling ingredients, I ran it all through my blender to smooth it out. The end result was an incredibly silky texture... This is not a dense, orange pie like you get from a can. Much lighter in color and more delicate. (A little more spice probably wouldn't hurt.) Consider decreasing your oven temp by 15 degrees & baking a little longer till the center sets up. Your crust will thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I made this recipe for my in-laws, My father in law is an old fashion pie lover. His Mother used to make the best pies (so I have been told)! Well No one has ever been able to recreate that twinkle in his eye like his mom used to get when he hate her pies, Until now! He loved it so much that he requested I make more so he can take them home and keep them in the freezer so he can have a taste whenever he wants! He said it was just like how mom used to make, with tears in his eyes!! VERY WELL DONE RECIPE!!!! VERY MUCH ENJOYED, will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This recipe has become a favorite for my family and friends. I make about 30 pies between October and November as friend from pumpkin patches send white pumpkins my way!!! I think I finally perfected it this year...this recipe does make 2 pies and the secret in using fresh pumpkin is in how that is prepared. After making the puree put it in a collender lined with coffee filters set in a bowl and wrapped with plastic wrap for 24 hours before attempting to make pie. This will keep pie from becoming soggy and will cook in the time given in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Quite delicious but needed a few changes. I also made my pumpkin puree from scratch (baked and pureed pumpkin the day before and drained it overnight in the fridge). I also reduced the milk to 1 cup, and even with adding about 1.5x the spices listed, it still seemed like it needed a little more. Next time I'll definitely at least double the spices, but this recipe makes a very good base to start with to temper to your own tastes. Highly recommended with the butter crust off of this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARBUCKJB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
ABSOLUTELY UNBELIEVABLE!!!! I made this pie today for mother's day and my mom went nuts! She said it tastes just like the one my grandma used to make for her when she was a little girl! I did change a few things though. I added one teaspoon of cinnamon instead of 1/2 a teaspoon, I only put in 1/2 cup of 1% milk instead of 1 1/2 cups, and I bought only the regular whipping cream, not the "heavy" whipping cream. I added about three TBL extra of whipping cream before I poured it in the pie shell because it looked like it needed a little more liquid. I also added one full 15 ounce can of pumpkin and then another 1/2 cup from another can... I baked it according to the time given in the directions, let it set at room temp for a few hours, then refrigerated it for a few hours and it was DELICIOUS!!!! I couldn't stop eating it!!!! Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and my whole family loved it. I used fresh pumpkin puree. I cut pie pumpkins in half and scoop out the seeds and goop with a grapefruit spoon - that seems to work out pretty well. Then place on a foil lined baking sheet and place the pumpkins cut side down. (I use a little bit of Pam so they don't stick). Then I completely cover the pumpkin with foil and put in a 350 degree oven for about an hour. However, some people say they can get two cups of puree from one pumpkin but I seem to only get one, so I have to do two pie pumpkins. After they have roasted, I scoop the pumpkin out of the shell and then throw them in the food processor to make the puree smooth and creamy. I've found out after experimenting I don't need to strain it, I think the roasting keeps the pumpkin from being too watery, as opposed to steaming which I think makes for the watery pies I've heard people complain of. But thanks for the recipe, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Beebe, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
I made this and several other pumpkin pie recipes for Thanksgiving, this one was declared the favorite. My original feeling about it was that it was a little too sweet, but I was voted down. I might cut the white sugar by half next time, though. I would also make sure you either have an extra crust or some oven-proof bowls, it was way too much filling for even my 9" deep dish crust. *Used this recipe again this year, and followed it exactly. Either I didn't do it right last year or my tastes have changed, it's delicious! It still makes enough for two pies from each batch, but everyone loved them, so they disappeared VERY quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemomster1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Susquehanna, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This pie was amazing. I've been making pies from a can since I was a kid, and I had a pumpkin leftover from Halloween and had guests coming over for dinner, so I thought, what the heck, and made the pumpkin puree myself. One thing to keep in mind is that it the filling made with homemade pureed pumpkin is much more watery than a canned pumpkin pie, so don't be surprised when you put it into the pie crust. I accidentally spilled a good portion of it out of the shell, but that ended up being a good thing since it took awhile to cook. I would suggest making a thinner pie, rather than deep-dish with this recipe so that the crust won't burn by the time the filling sets up (took about an hour with filling that was maybe 1 1/2 inches thick) and the filling will rise a bit so it won't be thin in the end. I did have maybe 1/3 of the filling leftover after I filled my crust, so I threw it in a loaf pan and baked it separately to make a pumpkin custard. I followed the suggestion of another reviewer and drained the puree in a colander lined with coffee filters overnight, which yielded at least a cup of water, which would have made the pie soggy, so I'm glad I did that and would suggest it to another who wants to make this pie from scratch. The end result was the absolute best pumpkin pie that I've ever had. Wasn't difficult, but was time-consuming, but definitely worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This pumpkin pie recipe is awesome! The only thing I changed is I used 2 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice instead of all of the seperate spices it asks for and added some finely grated orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
With all the positive reviews, I was disappointed with the end product. Used homemade pumpkin puree. Sorry to say it was a waste of time. The pie was edible, but NOT as a pumpkin pie. Very little pumpkin taste and too many spices. Filling is very runny (even after I used less liquid.....), however it did thicken up nicely. I have to mention the color: not very inviting. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States