Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is my 'go to' pumpkin pie recipe. I usually up the spices a little bit, just because I like having that much flavour. I'm a hardcore whipped cream and chilled pumpkin pie person - but this pie is so delicious, I can just eat it plain and room temperature! Most times I can't wait for it to cool off, I want to eat it right away. Goes great as tarts too, try putting pecans in (yum!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I always thought pumpkin pie was boring, so I made this one for my husband as it's his favorite and it's not in the boring category anymore! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Beebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Tastes so much lighter than the traditional pumpkin pie made with evaporated milk. Will definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I make this pie in my Pampered Chef stone pie plate. All the filling fits perfect, and it bakes up to the absolute best pumpkin pie ever!!! If there was a 10 star, I would give it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is the recipe I use every year. It isn't as sweet as most and has great flavor. I use home cooked pumpkin when I can but preheating and then cooling the canned really does remove the tinny taste and makes it almost as good as homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
absolutely excellent. This has a great flavor & is worth the little extra effort verses the evaporated milk recipe. Im gluten free so I used a sweet rice tart crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fidgetblogs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as stated except I used one cup of milk as other reviewers advised. The taste was wonderful but I caution you to use the pie rings right from the beginning as the crust started to burn right from the get-go. Also, I tried to make two pies out of the filling but was only able to make one 9" and one 8".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer Parker
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Good flavor, but not the best texture...more souffle than anything. I decreased the milk to 1 cup and the pie still took like an extra 30 minutes to bake. At the end of it, it was still very wet and runny. I may try another recipe with the same mix of spices though, since I think that this was the best I've had yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This came out to be VERY custard-like. It took a long time for the middle to settle as well. I had to bake it for about 15 minutes more with the crust covered. I also didn't follow this recipe wholly. I didn't add the extra egg yolk, used a bit less white sugar, and only 1/2 c. whole milk 'cause it looked too watery. I also didn't have ground ginger nor nutmeg on hand so... it didn't taste like a traditional pumpkin pie, haha. Will probably use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I am very disappointed... I decided to give this pie a try before Thanksgiving - thank goodness I did. It will not be on the table for T-day! I followed suggestions from other reviews, bought sugar pumpkins, baked them and pureed the pumpkin. I decreased the milk slightly. The pie has very little pumpkin flavor. I'm willing to admit it might be the pumpkins I used, but I'm not sure how to solve that problem. Plus, it is a unappetizing brown color. It took an additional 25 minutes to bake. Sorry Jim, but I am going back to my own mother's pumpkin pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States