Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is the recipe I use every year. It isn't as sweet as most and has great flavor. I use home cooked pumpkin when I can but preheating and then cooling the canned really does remove the tinny taste and makes it almost as good as homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
absolutely excellent. This has a great flavor & is worth the little extra effort verses the evaporated milk recipe. Im gluten free so I used a sweet rice tart crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fidgetblogs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as stated except I used one cup of milk as other reviewers advised. The taste was wonderful but I caution you to use the pie rings right from the beginning as the crust started to burn right from the get-go. Also, I tried to make two pies out of the filling but was only able to make one 9" and one 8".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alyssadara
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Good flavor, but not the best texture...more souffle than anything. I decreased the milk to 1 cup and the pie still took like an extra 30 minutes to bake. At the end of it, it was still very wet and runny. I may try another recipe with the same mix of spices though, since I think that this was the best I've had yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This came out to be VERY custard-like. It took a long time for the middle to settle as well. I had to bake it for about 15 minutes more with the crust covered. I also didn't follow this recipe wholly. I didn't add the extra egg yolk, used a bit less white sugar, and only 1/2 c. whole milk 'cause it looked too watery. I also didn't have ground ginger nor nutmeg on hand so... it didn't taste like a traditional pumpkin pie, haha. Will probably use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I am very disappointed... I decided to give this pie a try before Thanksgiving - thank goodness I did. It will not be on the table for T-day! I followed suggestions from other reviews, bought sugar pumpkins, baked them and pureed the pumpkin. I decreased the milk slightly. The pie has very little pumpkin flavor. I'm willing to admit it might be the pumpkins I used, but I'm not sure how to solve that problem. Plus, it is a unappetizing brown color. It took an additional 25 minutes to bake. Sorry Jim, but I am going back to my own mother's pumpkin pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Encinitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
This is an awesome recipe! I can't believe how easy it was to make. I used a pre-made pie crust and had it in the oven in about 10 minutes! I took the advice of others and used 1 cup of milk and all I had was half-and-half instead of heavy cream. It was a bit of a bummer because with a deep dish pie shell, it still was too much filling - I ended up throwing about a half cup of the filling away. I think if I used a 9" deep dish pie plate it would have fit perfectly, so next time I'll give that a try. Honestly, the taste of this pie is right on the mark! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I really love this recipe! It is nice to have a pumpkin pie recipe without using sweetened condensed milk. Every time I have made it, people love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jkdomrose
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and it was amazing! A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Needed more spice but my family still liked it. I will also try doubling the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States