Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is a great recipe! Super simple to prepare. I did follow the advice of some of the other reviewers: reduced milk to 1 cup, and added an extra 1/4tsp more of each spice item; I might try reducing the milk/cream more the next time for a denser consistency. I also found it tasted better after refrigeration. This recipe does make 2 pies! The more the merrier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nomnomnom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This is a great receipe, I used sweet potatoes instead of pumpkin, which we like just as well. I have also have used butternut squash which makes a better pie than anything else. I have my oven at 350 instead of 425. Bake for an hour & I use a 10 inch pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morland, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alamo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I made the pie exactly as written. It was very good, and the only reason I'm not giving it a 5 is because it wasn't the absolute BEST pumpkin pie I've ever had - but it was good and I would recommend it. :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is my 'go to' pumpkin pie recipe. I usually up the spices a little bit, just because I like having that much flavour. I'm a hardcore whipped cream and chilled pumpkin pie person - but this pie is so delicious, I can just eat it plain and room temperature! Most times I can't wait for it to cool off, I want to eat it right away. Goes great as tarts too, try putting pecans in (yum!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A. Taylor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I always thought pumpkin pie was boring, so I made this one for my husband as it's his favorite and it's not in the boring category anymore! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Beebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Tastes so much lighter than the traditional pumpkin pie made with evaporated milk. Will definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I make this pie in my Pampered Chef stone pie plate. All the filling fits perfect, and it bakes up to the absolute best pumpkin pie ever!!! If there was a 10 star, I would give it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is the recipe I use every year. It isn't as sweet as most and has great flavor. I use home cooked pumpkin when I can but preheating and then cooling the canned really does remove the tinny taste and makes it almost as good as homemade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
absolutely excellent. This has a great flavor & is worth the little extra effort verses the evaporated milk recipe. Im gluten free so I used a sweet rice tart crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fidgetblogs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as stated except I used one cup of milk as other reviewers advised. The taste was wonderful but I caution you to use the pie rings right from the beginning as the crust started to burn right from the get-go. Also, I tried to make two pies out of the filling but was only able to make one 9" and one 8".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States