Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Not too many people ate the pumpkin pie at Thanksgiving. Not sure if it was because this was my first pumpkin pie or because everyone was too full. I don't care for pumpkin pie, I made it for everyone else. Probably wouldn't make this again (easier just to buy one).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelleywilsonaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This pie was sooo easy to make and super-yummy! I didn't have any cloves so I omitted those. Turned out perfect. Also, I ended up baking for 60 min. instead of the recommended 40-45. Everyone's oven is different so just keep a close eye on it! Will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
Must use a 9" DEEP dish pie pan to hold all of the filling ingredients! Texture was less than perfect, would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I thought this was a fantastic pumpkin pie. I followed the directions with a small exception of adding just a tad less milk, probably didn't make a difference anyways. I has no problems with mine being watery or not setting up as some people mention in previous reviews. I loved that this recipe uses a lot of spice. I will make this recipe again. In the end, I used a deep dish and had extra mixture, like 1 1/2 cups leftover that I ended up tossing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie tasted amazing!! the only downside was that I doubled the recipe, then followed it to the "T" and it made WAY more then 2 pies: it made 5. i don't know what was different, but i won't ever be changing the quantity again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I loved this recipe!!! I really don't care for pumpkin pie, but my 4 year old son asked for it so I decided to try this recipe. It was REALLY good. He loves it. I made mini pies, much to my regret, since he is the only one that like pumpkin pie. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Hazel Crest, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Great Pumpkin Pie... Must try... The recipe is perfect just the way it is.. It does make two 9 inch pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
With all the positive reviews, I was disappointed with the end product. Used homemade pumpkin puree. Sorry to say it was a waste of time. The pie was edible, but NOT as a pumpkin pie. Very little pumpkin taste and too many spices. Filling is very runny (even after I used less liquid.....), however it did thicken up nicely. I have to mention the color: not very inviting. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
For my first pumpkin pie I thought it was EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
The only reason I didn't give this a better rating is because I haven't tasted it yet. It's in the oven now and my house smells amazing! It looks delicious and I can't wait. It did make way more than enough so I just put the remainder in a loaf pan and it's in the oven as well. This pie is also much more presentable than a "pie-in-a-can" pie. I just checked it and hated that I had to stick a knife in the middle of it! My pies usually crack but not this one! EDIT:I'm making this pie for a second time today because the first one was that amazing. I'm making this one for a friend (we're trading a pumpkin roll for a pumpkin pie) and I'm making another one for my family tonight. It's fantastic! The only thing I didn't enjoy last time was that the pumpkin layer was too thin (my crust was just way too thick). Also instead of using ginger and cloves I used 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and a whole teaspoon of cinnamon. FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States