Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made a pumpkin pie for Christmas dinner from the America's test kitchen site which was almost exactly like this one. I agree with many others, the flavor and consistency is good but the bake time is way off. I did one pie, which turned out to be very deep and took forever to cook, much longer than the stated time and I have an oven thermometer so I know it was not my oven. The next time, I will make two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Not bad... took a lot longer to bake and reviews were mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Definitely should make this into 2 pies. As I filled one pastry shell, it almost overflowed and I thought to myself, this is going to take forever to bake. I was right - it took forever, and ended up burning around the edges. After an hour and 10 minutes, the middle was still pure mush. The flavor was okay, but couldn't really tell because it was so mushy. I may try it again, but will make 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
WOW! I thought regular Libby's pumpkin pie recipe was good, this was SO much more flavorful and decadent! My goodness. You have never had pumpkin pie like this! Try it! Only thing I changed was that I used evaporated milk instead of regular milk, and I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. Oh, and I didn't use fresh pumpkin, I used 1 regular sized can of Libby's 100% Pure Pumpkin. This made 2 Pet Ritz deep dish pies (baked together on a cookie sheet, important!)and it got RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4Countries

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was really good. I followed the recipe to a T. Thanks to Luv2cook, I got two pie pumpkins and steamed them to make my pumpkin puree. I doubled the cinnamon. Next time I will follow the oven temp, because it took too long in my microwave/convection oven and the bottom crust got too done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I don't know if I did something wrong, but this seemed to be runny. I wasn't thrilled with the texture, and my guests thought the spices were a bit much. I am not a huge pumpkin pie fan anyway, but I think I've tasted better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Loved this recipe! We made these pies for thanksgiving and they were the best pumpkin pies ever. We did have to bake them a lot longer than the recipe said. About 45 min longer. I will use this one again! I also added 1 tsp of cinnamon instead of 1/2 tsp. Also we added 1/2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice to it just to make sure. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Very good basic recipe, not enough spices (personal preference). I changed the amounts as follows: 1 tsp ground ginger, 1/2 tsp ground cloves, 1/2 tsp salt ad used 1 cup of milk rather than the 1 1/2 called for. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wickedeyes
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
You CAN'T screw this one up! If you follow the directions exactly it will turn out perfectly I promise you. Tastes good, too of course! For even better results I recommend baking the pie shell for about 5-8 minutes by itself at 400 degrees F. Then turn oven down to 350 and bake entire pie for around 45 minutes. I substituted nutmeg/ginger/cloves with Pumpkin Pie Spice and it tasted even better! Let pie cool in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was fabulous! I doubled the spices based on other reviews and, for me, this was a mistake. I should have probably just made the recipe "as is" the first time. Even with the overloaded spices, it was the best pie I've had in a long, long time. I made homemade crust but used canned pumpkin. Today I'm making it again with my own baked pumpkin and I'm sure it will be even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States