Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I doubled this recipe b/c I wanted to make 2 pies, but found that I had enough filling for more then 3 pies. I baked 2 pies in my shells and just baked the rest in a casserole dish...made a yummy custard! It set up very well, pies baked for ten min. @ 425° then nearly an hour at 350°...came out perfect. So I wish the recipe was labeled as is for 2 small pies...and I agree w/ some reviewers that 1 cup of milk is probably plenty. Spiciness was just right, it also depends on the age/potency of your spices...they don't keep forever! Good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This recipe makes TWO 9-inch pies, not 1. Probably good info to have before starting to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Pumpkin pie is my favorite pie for any time of the year and now having made this recipe for the last couple of years, i now have an excuse to eat it all year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was my first time making pumpkin pie from scratch and it came out amazing. I think my only complaint is that somehow I ended up with enough filling for two store bought deep-dish pie crusts, instead of just one pie. No matter, cause it was so good we ate both of them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
A-mazing! And very easy. Most pumpkin pie recipes make too much of the filling for one pie, including this one. No problem, just have two pie shells ready! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathyb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This is a great recipe, and very simple! It's got lots of flavor, but you can also add 1/2 teas. or more of Pumpkin Pie Spice. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Made this for my coworkers and it turned out great! Like a previous reader did, I added a few more dashes of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of pumpkin spice. I made one batch as directed and it filled two deep pie plates. I bought them to work and I made one for my old team before I transferred departments and gave the other to my new team the next day. Needless to say, both pies were gone by the end of each day! I got great reviews and one coworker even asked me if I'd make a whole for myself after I told he he couldn't take one home LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This recipe was the best pumpkin pie I have ever had!!! Glad I chose this recipe for my first attempt at Pumpkin pie saves me from searching!!! I did use evaporated milk instead of the whipping cream and it worked awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving. I double the spices like a few reviews had stated, but I think I would leave out or reduce the amount of clove and ginger. It overpowered the pumpkin pie flavor for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I like this recipe. This was my first attempt at baking pie! Since we had received several pie pumpkins from our local farm CSA, I wanted to try a pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkin puree. I've since made my third pumpkin pie, learning a few tips and making a couple slight modifications. 1. I use four whole eggs (why waste an egg white?). 2. I replaced the spices with 1.5 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice I got on the cheap (I don't like cloves anyway). 3. It helps to cook off some of the pumpkin puree water first, to keep the mixture from being too diluted and taking too long to bake. 4. Put an extra cookie sheet under the pie's rack in the oven and carefully pour the mixture into the pie crust in the oven, as it will be very full. The first time, I managed to carry it to the oven full without spilling, but it can be challenging. 5. Use your leftover heavy cream to make whipped cream (add powdered sugar and beat until fluffy). 6. Pie will be jiggly when finished, but the skin will show you it's not liquid. Be careful removing it from the oven, cool it at room temp, and be sure to plan on refrigerating it overnight (cover with plastic wrap) for best results. Add your homemade whipped cream and enjoy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XSarenkaX

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States