Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This recipe was a huge hit on Thanksgiving! Everybody loved it. In Fact, I got a few "it's the best pumpkin pie I've ever had" reviews! I didn't chang anything but I would reccommend that you make two crusts because there is enough filling for two whole pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mancelona, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was awesome! And easy to prepare - loved it: will definitely cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wagoner, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and my whole family loved it. I used fresh pumpkin puree. I cut pie pumpkins in half and scoop out the seeds and goop with a grapefruit spoon - that seems to work out pretty well. Then place on a foil lined baking sheet and place the pumpkins cut side down. (I use a little bit of Pam so they don't stick). Then I completely cover the pumpkin with foil and put in a 350 degree oven for about an hour. However, some people say they can get two cups of puree from one pumpkin but I seem to only get one, so I have to do two pie pumpkins. After they have roasted, I scoop the pumpkin out of the shell and then throw them in the food processor to make the puree smooth and creamy. I've found out after experimenting I don't need to strain it, I think the roasting keeps the pumpkin from being too watery, as opposed to steaming which I think makes for the watery pies I've heard people complain of. But thanks for the recipe, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Beebe, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe was great! I added an extra cup of pumpkin as recommended by others. The recipe was easy to make dairy free - I used 1 cup soy milk in place of the milk, and 1/2 cup Silk Soy Creamer in place of the heavy cream and it turned out FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving this year, everyone raved about the flavors the only thing I did different was grind my own cloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graham Family Farm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this recipe for thanksgiving and it had so much more flavor than the other recipes that I have tried Ill stick with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
If you like traditionally flavored pumpkin pie, this is an excellent choice with a great balance of spices. However, I was disappointed with a couple of things. First, the uncooked pie filling is very soupy (not the thickness you expect from a pumpkin pie). It took over an hour to set in my oven at the temperature called for in the instructions. The other drawback is that the recipe, as measured, makes much more pie than can fit in a pie crust. I ended up pouring a lot of it down the drain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I cooked this for my Irish boyfriend's family as part of a Thanksgiving meal. Because I'm in Ireland and can't find canned pumpkin puree, I used real pumpkin. It was very easy to do, but because I only bought a section of the pumpkin (already de-seeded), I didn't have quite enough for 2 full cups. I read in other reviews to let it drain overnight, but I had to settle for letting it drain for several hours and then squeezing out the excess liquid. The mixture looked very watery before I baked it, but the eggs made it thicken up, and it turned out to be a really nice pie. I'll definitely use the recipe again. I used the no-roll pie crust found on this website, and that went well with it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is the best pumpkin pie I have ever had. This recipe adds a new element of flavor to the pie while still retaining that classic pumpkin pie taste. The new element of taste is almost egg custard-like and the texture of the pie is more fluffy. I made two pies, and in the second one, added approximately 1 additional cup of Pumpkin Puree. This reduced the egg custard-flavor and brought the pumpkin flavor to the forefront while still maintaining the fluffy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
this tastes even better after a night in the fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falmouth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States