Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
.I don't know if it was the pumpkin I used (Albertsons)..I ALWAYS use Libby..grabbed the wrong can (the dogs) ...anyway...it tasted AWFUL!! It had to be the pumpkin...the ingredients were ok...so...anyway...had to make my usual recipe which it always good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Easy to make, light and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
I really hate to give bad reviews but I have to tell the truth. This pie had a horrible texture, I baked it for a lot longer than it calls for and it was still mushy and somewhat watery. I would've given it more stars if it at least tasted right but it didn't. it leaves an odd after taste in the mouth. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
The flavor of this pie is excellent.At first I thought the cloves would be too powerful but all the spices worked together so wonderfully.I'm not good at pie crusts so I tried a shortbread pie crust and it tasted fantastic together.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Just incredible. I like to add a little apple pie spice on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camdenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Great texture - set up absolutely beautifully with a 40-minute bake time. I used canned pumpkin, so that might account for it not being runny like some have said. I took user advice and added a little more spice (1/2t allspice plus a bit more cinnamon and ginger), but I'd just use the recommended amounts in the future. It was plenty spicy for my tastes. Really pleased with my first pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hephzibah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made a pumpkin pie for Christmas dinner from the America's test kitchen site which was almost exactly like this one. I agree with many others, the flavor and consistency is good but the bake time is way off. I did one pie, which turned out to be very deep and took forever to cook, much longer than the stated time and I have an oven thermometer so I know it was not my oven. The next time, I will make two pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Not bad... took a lot longer to bake and reviews were mixed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Definitely should make this into 2 pies. As I filled one pastry shell, it almost overflowed and I thought to myself, this is going to take forever to bake. I was right - it took forever, and ended up burning around the edges. After an hour and 10 minutes, the middle was still pure mush. The flavor was okay, but couldn't really tell because it was so mushy. I may try it again, but will make 2 pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
WOW! I thought regular Libby's pumpkin pie recipe was good, this was SO much more flavorful and decadent! My goodness. You have never had pumpkin pie like this! Try it! Only thing I changed was that I used evaporated milk instead of regular milk, and I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of allspice. Oh, and I didn't use fresh pumpkin, I used 1 regular sized can of Libby's 100% Pure Pumpkin. This made 2 Pet Ritz deep dish pies (baked together on a cookie sheet, important!)and it got RAVE reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4Countries

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 31-40 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States