Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Quite delicious but needed a few changes. I also made my pumpkin puree from scratch (baked and pureed pumpkin the day before and drained it overnight in the fridge). I also reduced the milk to 1 cup, and even with adding about 1.5x the spices listed, it still seemed like it needed a little more. Next time I'll definitely at least double the spices, but this recipe makes a very good base to start with to temper to your own tastes. Highly recommended with the butter crust off of this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARBUCKJB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This is definitely the best pumpkin pie I've ever tasted (or made). Pumpkin pie is my favorite kind of pie, but even non-pumpkin pie lovers in my extended family raved about this one. I did end up with a little too much filling, so I just greased a loaf pan and poured the extra into it, baked it along with the pie, and ate it when it came out! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Loudon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Yummy! I did double the cinamon & I ground up fresh nutmeg. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
I took "luv2cook"s advice posted on 10/02/06 and used real pumpkin for the first time. Super easy to make. This pie made two deep dishes. Followed the directions exactly (except sub'd the real pumpkin for the puree). I was the new "Betty Crocker" at the holiday gathering. This is now saved in my recipe box and will be a standard for Thanksgiving & Christmas. NO MORE PUMPKIN PUREE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Exquisite...Great Recipe.....Wanted to try a new pumpkin pie recipe and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I liked this pie. Since I usually have 1% milk on hand I sub. half of the milk for evaporated milk with is thicker. I ended up being able to use 2/3 of the batter and quickly made some tart shells for the rest of the batter. It took about 55 minutes for the pie to set. I think this pie can be reduced or simply divided up into two pie shells. I served it with fresh whipped cream- it was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillyBean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaford, Delaware, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
WOW ! What is not to like about this recipe? I don't like pumpkin pie and I like this one. My son declared it the best pie he ever had !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Excellent flavor and texture, good one. I only change the milk for evaporated milk and used pumpkin spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MERY PLATA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This recipe is great. I added 1 T of molasses and 1 T of bourbon for a deeper richer pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This was my first time baking pumpkin pie and I think it went pretty well. Considering it was also the first time I ate pumpkin pie, it is quite difficult to know how to rate it. All I know is that I enjoyed baking and eating it, and my bf, who isn't a pumpkin pie beginner, thought it was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gothenburg, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States