Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
very good. I didn't have cream, so I used the French vanilla non-dairy creamer I had on hand. It worked! The pie took a lot longer to cook for me. It had an egg-ier taste than I'm used to, but I like that! I'd recommend it. And my family liked it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
This recipie was a Godsend! I live in Sweden where they dont have canned pumpkin or evaporated milk... and this recipie does not call for either! You start with fresh pumpkins which are available and I can grow them too! Plus it was delicous,,, what more can you ask??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne-Marie Bullis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Håcksvik, Västra Götalands, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This recipe was phenomenal!! I recently moved from the US to Australia where you cannot buy canned pumpkin so I took the liberty of buying a pumpkin, cooking and pureeing it. It turned out fabulous. I am a bit disappointed I didn't take pictures because the pies, which actually yielded 2 9 inch pies for me, was beautiful!! I would recommend a tab bit more nutmeg - to make it like grandma's, however, this was fab!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This pie is delicious. I also make my own pumpkin puree using fresh pumpkin. The spices and sweetness of the pie are perfect. My family ate this up soon after it came out of the oven. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jersey Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Excellent pie! This is really good. I like my pie a bit sweeter and a bit spicier so I aded 1/4 cup sugar and did not use sugar in my crust, and doubled the spices. It set really well and I didn't add the third cup of pumpkin puree like some bakers said to do. It is not watery and tastes even better when eaten cold the next day. So good, thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This is our family's pumpkin pie as well :-D We don't get canned pumpkin here in Sweden, so I use raw shredded pumpkin, and it is just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ket Jensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
Fantastic! This was incredibly easy to make and tasted absolutely delicious. As other recommended, I increased the spices and only used 1 cup of milk. Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shealuna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This recipe was a huge hit on Thanksgiving! Everybody loved it. In Fact, I got a few "it's the best pumpkin pie I've ever had" reviews! I didn't chang anything but I would reccommend that you make two crusts because there is enough filling for two whole pies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mancelona, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This was awesome! And easy to prepare - loved it: will definitely cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Wagoner, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly and my whole family loved it. I used fresh pumpkin puree. I cut pie pumpkins in half and scoop out the seeds and goop with a grapefruit spoon - that seems to work out pretty well. Then place on a foil lined baking sheet and place the pumpkins cut side down. (I use a little bit of Pam so they don't stick). Then I completely cover the pumpkin with foil and put in a 350 degree oven for about an hour. However, some people say they can get two cups of puree from one pumpkin but I seem to only get one, so I have to do two pie pumpkins. After they have roasted, I scoop the pumpkin out of the shell and then throw them in the food processor to make the puree smooth and creamy. I've found out after experimenting I don't need to strain it, I think the roasting keeps the pumpkin from being too watery, as opposed to steaming which I think makes for the watery pies I've heard people complain of. But thanks for the recipe, this one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Beebe, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States