Mom's Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I wish I had read through all the reviews before I followed the recipe. The pie was extremely runny and needed more than double the time to cook. I covered the pie crust with foil after the first 50 minutes of baking at 350, after baking for 10 minutes at 425, and I baked the pie for another 40 minutes. I added 1.5 times the spices and am hoping I am able to serve it tomorrow for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Galdamez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I used 1 cup half and half and 1 cup milk. I also used 1 heaping teaspoon pumpkin pie spice instead of the spices. Yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
It's great and easy. I use my Cuisinart, any food processor will do. 1) make sure fresh puree has sufficiently drained 2)combine and blend ALL ingredients and mix WELL before adding pumpkin. 3) I use pumpkin spice plus cinnamon. Its easier than a tsp of this and that. Don't forget to increase the pumpkin spice for each separate spice you replace. Or spice or sweeten to taste. It's easy to alter. Firms well. Pretty much fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I've made pumpkin pies for YEARS..and this is the best recipe thus far! Even better with homegrown pumpkins!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Wink

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
i think the most important addition to any pumpkin pie recipe is to triple all the spices. does anyone else do this? it makes all the difference in the world
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Jost

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This recipe is great. Needed to tweek it a little. More spice and less milk. Still seems a little too wet. But I also use fresh pumpkin. Everyone seems to love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Oh my deliciousness! The only thing I changed was that I used evaporated milk in place of milk & omitted cloves (didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pamjlee
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made a few changes. Doubled the spices. It would have been way to bland otherwise. I also cut the milk to 1 cup. I use a quiche pan and it just fit! I cooked it the 45 min then added an extra 9 minutes of cooking time. It could gave used a couple of more minutes still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamjlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This makes a huge amount of filling so make sure that your crust is really 9 inches. Also many of us used our own home made pumpkin puree which is usually much thinner than the canned stuff. I added a tbsp of flour as well as using half the milk /cream. This was not my favourite but like most kitchen creations the result is subjective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Thomlison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Delicious!!!!!! Made some minor tweaks to increasing spices and added milk/cream in the end to desired consistency. Also used a fresh pumpkin. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States