Mom's Prize Winning Raw Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes ever. I ate an obscene amount of this cake as it was way too good. I never heard of sour milk, other than milk gone bad in the fridge, so I googled it: 1- Place 1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice or distilled white vinegar in a glass measuring cup. 2- Add in milk (2% or richer) to equal 1 cup. Stir. 3- Let stand for 15 minutes until it looks like its beginning to curdle or slightly curdled. Worked like a charm! I didn't peel my apples either because most of the nutrients sit under the skin of fruits, so if I'm going to eat something not so good for me, it may as well have some nutritional value...lol. Mostly though, I'm lazy. Tasted great peels and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Amazingly moist balanced cake. Seemed to make a bit too much topping but this is a miniscule issue. Great way to use sour milk. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
Absolutely Wonderful... I have made it 3 times this month for sharing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
A great way to use up old apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
VERY yummy! I had some sour milk that I wanted to use, so I thought I'd try this recipe. Very easy. I made a double batch & took it to work. They gobbled up every bit of it! Another nice thing about it was I had everything on hand already... didn't have to go out & buy anything new! I think I might try it as muffins next time. Hmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missi K

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Made this for a church potluck and it was a hit. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J-9
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
I followed this recipe pretty closely, except I used margarine instead of oil. I also wanted to add a few more spices to the batter like other reviewers suggested, but I forgot, so I just added nutmeg and allspice to the topping. I received plenty of compliments, and a recipe request to boot. Thanks for submitting, Andrea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J-9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was very good! I doubled the apples and the topping and it was amazing! 4 adults ate this entire cake in about 24 hours... we just kept going back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This made great muffins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvsfood2much

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Delicious moist sweet apple cake. I used 3 granny smith apples and a couple gala apples. I chopped the apple into very tiny cubes. There was probably a bit more than the recipe called for. Everyone who ate it loved it!!! Great for a big crowd or pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States