Mom's Prize Winning Raw Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was delicious. Nice and moist. It got great reviews from family and coworkers. 4 stars because of a couple changes. I added more than 2 cups of apples (between 2 and a half and 3) becuase I had them and wanted to use them up. I forgot the salt altogether (was not missed) and I used 1 cup of plain lowfat greek yogurt in place of the sour milk because I had it and like to bake with it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was very good and super-easy to make. Followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't add walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Delicious cake. I had a cup of sou half- n- half that I wanted to use up, plus I had about 3 cups of diced frozen golden delicious apples (unpeeled). Used both up in this recipe, substituting slices almonds for the walnuts that I didn't have. Came out great. I wouldn't hesitate to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Great moist cake. Tons of flavor using only cinnamon. I used 2 cups of a mixed whole wheat/white flour, used 1/2 cup less sugar in batter and pecans instead of walnuts. My cake only cooked for 33 minutes and was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Delicious moist sweet apple cake. I used 3 granny smith apples and a couple gala apples. I chopped the apple into very tiny cubes. There was probably a bit more than the recipe called for. Everyone who ate it loved it!!! Great for a big crowd or pot luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This made great muffins!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvsfood2much

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
the cake had very little flavor. 3 stars warm out of the oven, but not good the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
This was yummy and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Sharrits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Horse Shoe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Flavor was good, but was too tall for the pan and didn't bake well in the middle. Will bake in bigger pan next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was very good! I doubled the apples and the topping and it was amazing! 4 adults ate this entire cake in about 24 hours... we just kept going back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States