Mom's Prize Winning Raw Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made a couple of modifications to try to make this a healthier cake but I never thought to cut down on the sugar until it was too late. This cake is way too sweet for me, next time I will cut out the white sugar completely and it will be a nice breakfast/spice cake. The modifications that I made this time around were to substitute whole wheat flour for half of it and I used applesauce instead of the oil, I also added extra spices such as nutmeg, cloves and a bit of allspice. I grabbed the wrong pan and greased an 8x8 so I just used 3/4 of the batter in the pan and the rest as muffins, they took about 25 minutes to bake and did rise nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Loved it, was a generous serving. Dh loved it too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I made this recipe as an afternoon snack for my kids. I had extra apples I needed to get rid of and this seemed perfect! I only excluded the nuts from the topping (allergy in the family) and made muffins with it. They only needed to bake for 17 minutes and turned put perfectly! I would recommend this to anyone!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
OMG! DELICIIIIIIIIIOOOOOOUUUUS! AND my boy of 11 loved it as my husband! WOW, really delicious, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Made it for my grown daughter's birthday tonight. It was a hit. I thought it was just a bit too sweet and may add a little less white sugar in the topping next time. I used buttermilk and added a few golden raisins to the batter. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Made it per the recipe first time. Second time added extra cup of Granny Smith apples from our tree(unpeeled),a cup of chopped walnuts to the batter as well as reduced veg oil to 1/3C. Baked in glass dish starting @350, immediately reduced to 325 for ~55 minutes. Didn't last very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Really great recipe. I made a couple changes based on what I had available: about 1/2 cup sour milk and 1/2 cup sour half and half, and a combo of nutmeg/ cloves/ allspice/ ginger because I was strangely out of cinnamon. I also used a bit less sugar than called for, based on previous comments. I made 7 fairly large muffins and found that there was more topping than I needed. They are flavorful, moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
The only change I made was use sour cream in place of sour milk and added 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract. I did not bother peeling the apples. Very moist cake! Next time extra spices need to be added. Maybe nutmeg and more cinnamon, it was a little bland. It was a very easy cake to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This was delicious. Nice and moist. It got great reviews from family and coworkers. 4 stars because of a couple changes. I added more than 2 cups of apples (between 2 and a half and 3) becuase I had them and wanted to use them up. I forgot the salt altogether (was not missed) and I used 1 cup of plain lowfat greek yogurt in place of the sour milk because I had it and like to bake with it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This was very good and super-easy to make. Followed the recipe exactly except that I didn't add walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States