Mom's Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by ilkaisha
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
To anyone who thinks these taste like regular bread: Use more baking soda!!! Your boiling water should be slightly cloudy, and you should be able to smell the soda if you put your nose near the steam. This is the KEY to a pretzel's signature flavor! Using soda to that measure, these pretzels are -out of this world.- They are so soft and delicious! I didn't use parchment because I was out. During the second rise, they didn't stick. I just sprinkled the pan with kosher salt before baking and they came right off the bare pan after the quick boil. Absolutely perfect. My boyfriend's grandfather had a bakery in Germany, and he says that this recipe is like the one they used in the shop. I made eight pretzels with this recipe. They were all kind of fat (that's how I like 'em!), but I imagine you could do 12 thinner pretzels if you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This is the best pretzel recipe! I followed the directions very carefully and they turned out amazing. I can't wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I wish I knew how to make them shiny, but I'm afraid that might involve added oil of some sort....they were amazing otherwise, esp when made with wheat. A little bit of salt or sugar goes a long way with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Very good pretzels. Not sure why someone commented that they were hard; mine were not hard at all, and I refrigerated the dough bc I had to leave after making it. The dough was still cold when I started shaping, so I would think they'd have ended up hard and dense on my batch, if anything, but they were soft and chewy. As for the distinct flavor of pretzels--try using beer for a different taste. I've tried a number of pretzel recipes since we love them in this house, and yes, these are a bit like regular bread, but they are still really good. You can play around with the toppings for these if you like: add shredded cheese, garlic, parmesan, cinnamon and sugar . . .the list goes on and on. That's the great thing about a plain pretzel recipe--it allows for endless variations! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Violet
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Just made these and they are very tasty. Made them heart shaped since it's almost Valentine's Day. Will be using this recipe again for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Good recipe. Followed directions exactly and they turned out great - the dough was sticky (but I expected that reading the reviews) but when it came time to form the pretzels the dough was great to work with. The texture was really nice, too - wonderfully soft and chewy. My only grievance - I thought pretzels had a distinct taste. This tasted like plain white bread to me. It was really good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UNIVSTUDENT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
GREAT recipe! I cant buy pretzels here in China... so this satisfied my craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
turned out great. burnt the first batch so i changed the baking time and temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Shelly Kelly
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
The cooking instructions needed adjustment. You will need 2 cookie sheets prepared. I boiled them for 45 seconds on each side (make sure you let all of the excess water drain off well) and the cooking time was approximately 9 minutes. Remove them with a quick slide/jab of the spatula because you will loose some of the pretzel to the paper if you try to pick them up. Also let them cool a bit before removing them from the paper. In a gas oven place both cookie sheets on the lower rack. Do not put them on top of each other. My gas oven heat from the bottom and the lower sheet was much better than the top one. I'm glad I kept an eye on them. I made 10, there we seven left when I took the picture and the there are now two left (only because I hid them.) They really are very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States