Mom's Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovetocook
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Wow these were amazing and disappeared quickly. I didn't have parchment paper so I greased cookie sheets with butter flavored shortening. Luckily I had coarse salt left over from margarita night. Next time I'm trying seasoning in the dough for more flavoring. I used more baking soda in the water for that pretzel taste which was a tip from another review. We will be making these often. Thank you for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deena Stone Wilson
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
My daughter Reagan and I made these today for a treat. Pretty easy to make, the dough is sticky but that's how it goes with pretzels. I also used my kitchen Aid to make the dough. Reagan rolled them out about as thick as my thumb, wanted to be sure they were soft. They puffed up just right. This is the first time I used the baking soda bath, so I was kind of winging it. I put them in the bath right side down, then flipped for the last 30 seconds. I took them out with a slotted spoon to drain before I put them to the cookie sheet. I was out of wax paper so I used a baking liner and it worked great, they didn't stick at all. Now they came out fine, wish I egg washed the to so they were a bit shiny and browner but that's fine. They were nice a soft on the inside, think I could have cooked them a little longer. While they tasted good, my old recipe used beer which gave them a really great flavor, maybe next time I will substitute the water for beer like another user did. We topped them with a little honey mustard and had a great snack with our movie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deena Stone Wilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annette M.
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I followed this recipe end to end except for one thing and it was perfect! The one exception was the "baking soda bath" as called from previous reviewers. I added regular sized about 5 spoonfuls instead of 2 tablespoons and after each spoonful turned the heat down quickly to prevent over-boiling then turned it back to normal.(be careful with this) I think the baking soda helped the pretzel flavor a lot and it tastes great nothing like regular white bread. I also love this recipe because compared to all other recipes this one is soooo easy and soooo good! If you want to add a little something extra add popcorn seasoning (I used Kernel Season's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Robert Waters
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Followed the recipe exactly. Pretzels were mighty tasty, but it was impossible to take them from the 30 minute "resting" stage to the boiling without totally "deflating" them! Also, pretzels must NOT be too close to each other during 30 minute resting or else they will stick together real bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Waters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Good, the kids loved them. I followed the recipe exactly. I don't understand why people say it's sticky the dough because it was not all all I used the exact amount of flour needed as recipe called for. I actually didn't need any extra flour for kneading. The only thing I did as it was baking I brushed melted butter through the cooking process twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Okay. So I tried at least 3 others til I sound this one and it was the best! Authentic German pretzels just like I used to have in Munich at my Oma's house!! N
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joearias
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Brushed on warm honey before adding salt, came out amazing! Very soft all around for excellent comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reecancook
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Delicious! I followed this recipe to the letter. I enjoyed pretending to be a worker at a pretzel shop, twirling the dough out. My sister thought I was hilarious, and told me I might have a job at Wetzels Pretzels! The only trouble I had was with the baking soda bath. I allowed it to get too hot, so it boiled over and I went into a mini panic mode!!! After that I just let the baking soda water simmer instead. I was surprised how fluffy it made the pretzels. I decided to make these for my Super Bowl party and they were gone within the first two minutes of putting them out. It's a hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reecancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was great. I cut the recipe in 1/2, made 6 of the cutest pretzels! I sprinkled them with salt and sesame seeds and after they baked I brushed them with melted butter. Served it with a beer and gouda soup recipe I found on this site. yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1wayin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Branchville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jerry
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Made them on a snow day. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States