Mom's Pretzels Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Good, the kids loved them. I followed the recipe exactly. I don't understand why people say it's sticky the dough because it was not all all I used the exact amount of flour needed as recipe called for. I actually didn't need any extra flour for kneading. The only thing I did as it was baking I brushed melted butter through the cooking process twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Okay. So I tried at least 3 others til I sound this one and it was the best! Authentic German pretzels just like I used to have in Munich at my Oma's house!! N
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by joearias
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Brushed on warm honey before adding salt, came out amazing! Very soft all around for excellent comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reecancook
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Delicious! I followed this recipe to the letter. I enjoyed pretending to be a worker at a pretzel shop, twirling the dough out. My sister thought I was hilarious, and told me I might have a job at Wetzels Pretzels! The only trouble I had was with the baking soda bath. I allowed it to get too hot, so it boiled over and I went into a mini panic mode!!! After that I just let the baking soda water simmer instead. I was surprised how fluffy it made the pretzels. I decided to make these for my Super Bowl party and they were gone within the first two minutes of putting them out. It's a hit!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reecancook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was great. I cut the recipe in 1/2, made 6 of the cutest pretzels! I sprinkled them with salt and sesame seeds and after they baked I brushed them with melted butter. Served it with a beer and gouda soup recipe I found on this site. yummy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1wayin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Branchville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jerry
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Made them on a snow day. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made these last night, went well with mustard and beer. Not that bad at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I was a bit disappointed with this recipe. The pretzels didn't have much flavor to me, and the ones I salted were kind of terrible (we ended up throwing them out!) The cinna sugar ones were ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christianmusician8
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I made these using 1/2 cup of whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose and they turned out well. I wasn't sure about the temp of my water and the yeast didn't really turn into a "creamy foam" but my dough still raised. I brushed my pretzels with an egg white but they didn't change color as much as I expected. I dropped them in the water by hand but slide out using a spatula. The first one I tried to use bbq tongs or chopsticks and it broke apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Tina Brown-Mineau
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
I didn't change a thing. They came out soft and perfect. I used a dough hook. It may be the answer for these. I'd go extra light on the salt unless you bought pretzel salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Brown-Mineau

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States