Mom's Potato Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2004
These are great. I never knew you could do that with mashed potatoes. I have only tried them plain so far, cant wait to add cheese! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
These were a HUGE hit with my kids especially my extra finicky 2 yr old. I have had potato cakes before but these were the perfect size for little fingers. I added grated onion, minced garlic and 1/2 cup shredded cheese. They were grabbing them before they were cooled off! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This is such a great idea for leftover potatoes. I don't have any kids...but I do watch over younger siblings and a niece...they love this stuff. I made it just because they were really hungry and I didn't have anything for them to eat. Now they ask my mom to make it for them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
These were excellent! What a unique use of left over mashed potatoes. I added some grated cheddar cheese for added substance. Great for kids! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I finally found the recipe i was looking for. My dad would make these for us when we were kids. although my dad had put in seasoning to improve the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
WOW! They were so good. I had 4 of them. I added cheese onions and bacon. I added a little sour cream on one. I prefer it without the sour cream. Next time I will add more onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Yum! What a great treat when a deep-fried snack is craved. I love adding cheese, bacon and onions as the author suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Even though I added a lot of seasonings, I'm still rating this a five based on creativity. I used my favorite brand of instant mashed potatoes and quadrupled the recipe because both of my daughters boyfriends were here (and you know how they can eat). I only used two eggs and didn't measure the flour; just put in what looked about right. I added bacon and parm to the mix and yes, the "dough" was sticky, however, I floured my hands very well to help with the rolling. My buddy Josie tried this recipe and found the potatoes to be too greasy, but I think, honey bun that maybe your oil wasn't hot enough. I always use a candy thermometer to make sure the temp is at 350 degrees. Patti, I certainly made a lot of these babies and I'm happy to say, that most were devoured!! I can see myself making these as an appetizer using cheddar and jalapeno peppers. YUMMO and thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My husband and I devoured these. I added twice the salt (1 tsp), black pepper to taste, and about a tabplespoon of minced onion. I pan fried them in a 1/4 inch of oil. Pan frying is a little more work because I have to keep rotating the puffs to brown them, but I don't have as much oil to clean up. We used Chili Sauce as a dip. These puffs could easily be made into potato pancakes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I had a recipe similar to this in my recipe box, but didn't have the measurements. This is so good, I am making them for the first time right now, couldn't wait to try them. Delicious! I did add some minced onion, but that was the only change. Thank you for a very simple, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susannb
Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cadiz, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States