Mom's Potato Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
My mother always made thick potato pancakes with leftover mashed potatoes. I still make them--the family loves them! Almost the same proportions of flour and egg, but also add a little milk for softer "dough", chopped onion and parsley, and pan-fry rather than deep fry. Have to try adding corn--sounds like a great variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
This is such a great idea for leftover potatoes. I don't have any kids...but I do watch over younger siblings and a niece...they love this stuff. I made it just because they were really hungry and I didn't have anything for them to eat. Now they ask my mom to make it for them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I didn't care for these very much, but I'm giving them 4 stars because my son ate most of them. I used instant mashed potatoes and added about 1/2 a cup of shredded cheddar cheese like other reviewers. This made my mixture very sticky and hard to work with, which may have been why the batter tasted so strongly of oil. It soaked up quite a bit and we couldn't taste much of the potatoes. I also added some garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper...but couldn't taste it. Glad I gave this a try, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My husband and I devoured these. I added twice the salt (1 tsp), black pepper to taste, and about a tabplespoon of minced onion. I pan fried them in a 1/4 inch of oil. Pan frying is a little more work because I have to keep rotating the puffs to brown them, but I don't have as much oil to clean up. We used Chili Sauce as a dip. These puffs could easily be made into potato pancakes. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Rakic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
These were excellent! What a unique use of left over mashed potatoes. I added some grated cheddar cheese for added substance. Great for kids! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
These were good but we thought the flour taste was a bit overwhelming. I think next time I would cut the flour back to about 1/3 cup. Also, I cut the salt amt. in half and should have added the entire amt. - they were a little bland. I added a little bit of shredded cheddar cheese, which was a nice addition. I will make these again but will tweak the recipe a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is so good (my wife wanted them again). I also added cheese, onion, bacon,and garlic as others have suggested. My potatoes were a bit dry, so I also added another egg. Having no children to worry about I added Worcestershire sauce, mustard and a dash of red pepper flakes. Fried in a bit of oil, these came out crispy and tasty, no need for a dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
I did not like these, but they were so easy to make and my kids loved them! I'll probably be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
Fast, tasty recipe. Added cheddar cheese and the kids went nuts over them! Easy on-hand ingredients made it very convenient for a quick side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I remember begging my mother to make extra mashed potatoes so we could have her potato puffs the next night. As a child I helped mom make them. My mother handed down her recipe to me. I lost it and couldn't remember the exact measurements. This recipe jarred my memory. The only difference is that I use less salt. Also as others said you can add diced onion, and/or bacon, etc. to add different dimensions. I use a small cookie scoop to make hush puppy size puffs. If you make them too big they won't get done inside or else you'll have to fry them way to brown. Other than the salt this recipe is the one! Thanks for posting this. Also, some reviewers mentioned the "dough" to be too runny or too thick. The viscosity of the raw product will depend on how thick you originally made your mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Cox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States