Mom's Potato Puffs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I liked the flavor, but the potato mixture was so runny. It cooked up really unattractive, so nobody would even try them. I may tweak the recipe and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
These turned out good and the grandkids loved them. Nice to have something a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I first had these out so I was happy to see this recipe posted here. Also, thank you to previous reviewers for their helpful hints. I thought that these were great. I have never met a potato that I didn't like yet. Carbaholic here. Anything wrong with this recipe was my fault though, as I am not much of a fryer. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I've made these twice... The first time, I did a double-batch but only used one egg. I have to agree, you do really taste the flour when you use the full amount called for. The second time, I only used about half the flour and it was MUCH better. I added pepper and seasoning salt both times, a Mexican cheese blend the first time and cheddar the second, and I added some imitation bacon bits in the second batch. I deep-fried the first batch up as instructed, but the second time I just made potato pancakes and pan-fried them. Yum! Good with butter (and the deep-fried ones were great with syrup!). Next time, maybe I'll add some onions or maybe different cheese... Thanks, Patti, these were fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Even though I added a lot of seasonings, I'm still rating this a five based on creativity. I used my favorite brand of instant mashed potatoes and quadrupled the recipe because both of my daughters boyfriends were here (and you know how they can eat). I only used two eggs and didn't measure the flour; just put in what looked about right. I added bacon and parm to the mix and yes, the "dough" was sticky, however, I floured my hands very well to help with the rolling. My buddy Josie tried this recipe and found the potatoes to be too greasy, but I think, honey bun that maybe your oil wasn't hot enough. I always use a candy thermometer to make sure the temp is at 350 degrees. Patti, I certainly made a lot of these babies and I'm happy to say, that most were devoured!! I can see myself making these as an appetizer using cheddar and jalapeno peppers. YUMMO and thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
WOW! They were so good. I had 4 of them. I added cheese onions and bacon. I added a little sour cream on one. I prefer it without the sour cream. Next time I will add more onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Yum! What a great treat when a deep-fried snack is craved. I love adding cheese, bacon and onions as the author suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I finally found the recipe i was looking for. My dad would make these for us when we were kids. although my dad had put in seasoning to improve the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
My mother always made thick potato pancakes with leftover mashed potatoes. I still make them--the family loves them! Almost the same proportions of flour and egg, but also add a little milk for softer "dough", chopped onion and parsley, and pan-fry rather than deep fry. Have to try adding corn--sounds like a great variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I like to try recipes as they are written. This recipe brought back memories of what my mom use to make called, dofinkles , which kind of tastes like a potato donut hole. ( Back then they were somewhat bland, and we would dip them in pancake syrup or sour cream or sprinkled powdered sugar.) Today my two children and I made the potato puffs and they tasted as bland as they did 30 some years ago. I got such a good laugh, because I knew what to do, get out the pancake syrup, sour cream and powdered sugar and let the children decide on their own topping. We had alot of fun this rainy day, and the children enjoyed these as snacks. Family rating, 5 for fun, 4 for toppings 3 for potato puffs. Nice Memory. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

My Crispy Mashed Potato Pancake

An easy, delicious way to enjoy leftover mashed potatoes for breakfast or dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States