Mom's Potato Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This is my recipe. I wanted to let folks know that before you put the potato mixture in the pan, take the scoop and make sure to drain the liquid out by holding the spoonful of potato against the side if the bowl. Also we usually crush the saltines in a Baggie, saves on mess. The saltines act as a binder. Hope you love these as much as we do. My favorite way to eat them is with sour cream. The don't reheat well in microwave (in my experience) but do reheat fairly well in a toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Loved it. I did not add the salt due to my diet and the latke were great. Will be making again thank you Lindsay for sharing this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Thanks for a great recipe, Lindsay. We enjoyed these very much. I took your advice and used tongs to grab the potatoes without a lot of liquid. Note: I peel russet potatoes and place in cold water in a salad spinner. Then use the food processor to grate the potatoes. The grated potatoes go back into the cold water in the salad spinner. Triple rinse the potatoes until the water is no longer starchy. Spin dry, shake and spin again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Awesome! I topped mine with grape/apple relish. Make sure to squeeze out the excess liquid from the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Just made it today; easy and delicious. I used EVOO and they were perfect. My wife who is Thai (Thais generally are not wild about western food), just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This was great! I loved the salad spinner tip, I'm sure that is what made these so good. I don't have a lot of practice making potato cakes, and these were easy to work with and just delicious. Thank you Lindsay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I liked these. If looking for a potato latke recipe, that is more about the potato than a bunch of flour than this is the recipe. I am not a fan of shredding potatoes, so I just used a 20oz bag of simply shredded potatoes. I measured it and it came to 4 cups. I used the whole bag anyhow and it was fine. I followed through the rest of the recipe, although I did not have saltine crackers. So, I used 3 sweet potato and chive flat stick crackers. They can't be seen or tasted anyhow. It is more for a binder. I just pureed the crackers and onions in my Vitamix blender moving the dial to medium for about 10 seconds. That made that part super easy too. I was hoping to not have to use a full 1/2 cup of vegetable oil. I used safflower oil and I did end up using 6 Tablespoons of it divided. Extra oil is needed, in this recipe, to make the potatoes crispy and hold together. With a muffin scoop, and as made, I got 10 patties at 162.5 calories each. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
These are a great treat for the Potato Latke lover…I liked the simplicity of the recipe and really appreciated the advice to make sure and drain the excess liquid from the potatoes…. We had these with sour cream and my daughter topped hers with a spicy cranberry chutney… Thank you Lindsay for a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Super yummy delicious, and oh so easy. I chop the onion then shred up the potato on top of it all in the food processor. Then, just dump it out into a bowl and add the rest. I use matzoh ball mix instead of plain flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hopewell, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States