Mom's Potato Latkes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This is my recipe. I wanted to let folks know that before you put the potato mixture in the pan, take the scoop and make sure to drain the liquid out by holding the spoonful of potato against the side if the bowl. Also we usually crush the saltines in a Baggie, saves on mess. The saltines act as a binder. Hope you love these as much as we do. My favorite way to eat them is with sour cream. The don't reheat well in microwave (in my experience) but do reheat fairly well in a toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Thanks for a great recipe, Lindsay. We enjoyed these very much. I took your advice and used tongs to grab the potatoes without a lot of liquid. Note: I peel russet potatoes and place in cold water in a salad spinner. Then use the food processor to grate the potatoes. The grated potatoes go back into the cold water in the salad spinner. Triple rinse the potatoes until the water is no longer starchy. Spin dry, shake and spin again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
These are darn good...and a little indulgent maybe. These have origin in the Middle East and Europe. Yet, like many things, food is enjoyed and needed by every culture...from the Middle East to Scandinavia to Thailand. Universally good food is just that. It worked well for me to use a little oil on the pan for each pancake and not immersing it, adding more when flipping. Glad I watched the video to freshen up my potato squeezing technique. I don't have a spinner...plus it makes me dizzy. Grated cheese might be good. Seems any kind of binder works...might try pulverized flavored croutons after the roasted Panko crumbs after the home made whole wheat seasoned bread crumbs after the Cheezy crackers (ok, I'll stop now).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I liked these. If looking for a potato latke recipe, that is more about the potato than a bunch of flour than this is the recipe. I am not a fan of shredding potatoes, so I just used a 20oz bag of simply shredded potatoes. I measured it and it came to 4 cups. I used the whole bag anyhow and it was fine. I followed through the rest of the recipe, although I did not have saltine crackers. So, I used 3 sweet potato and chive flat stick crackers. They can't be seen or tasted anyhow. It is more for a binder. I just pureed the crackers and onions in my Vitamix blender moving the dial to medium for about 10 seconds. That made that part super easy too. I was hoping to not have to use a full 1/2 cup of vegetable oil. I used safflower oil and I did end up using 6 Tablespoons of it divided. Extra oil is needed, in this recipe, to make the potatoes crispy and hold together. With a muffin scoop, and as made, I got 10 patties at 162.5 calories each. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Awesome! I topped mine with grape/apple relish. Make sure to squeeze out the excess liquid from the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by isabela
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I loved the recipe however I found that the directions left out the draining of any juice in the potato mixture. I also found that using your hands to shape the latkes was much more effective resulting in the latkes being more put together and flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
this recipe is great I did learn a new trick to them crispy and less greasy use a hand towel or cheese cloth to remove extra water from the potatoes by squeezing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aja
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
One word: Delicious! I'm glad I chose this recipe to make latkes for the first time. The addition of saltine crackers is what pushed me to try this particular recipe. Very easy to make and tasty! I can't believe I hadn't made latkes sooner and will continue to make them more often now. I served it with some sour cream and diced raw granny smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This was great! I loved the salad spinner tip, I'm sure that is what made these so good. I don't have a lot of practice making potato cakes, and these were easy to work with and just delicious. Thank you Lindsay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Just made it today; easy and delicious. I used EVOO and they were perfect. My wife who is Thai (Thais generally are not wild about western food), just loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Potato Latkes I

Watch how to make these top-rated potato latkes.

How to Make Potato Latkes

Use your food processor to make potato latkes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States