Mom's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am finally able to make a delicious pie crust. This recipe worked well but I didn't have an shortening so I used salted butter. I finally know how to create course crumb using another user's posted suggestion, which is to mix the butter dough mixture over and ice bowl...it worked perfectly. Not sure what the vinegar does, but I added it and this crust was great. I also use a hand mixture to create the coarse crumb - for some reason it doesn't work for me in an electric mixer - I think it's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
So many ingredients! The tip on vinegar and egg yolk makes it worthwhile, though. Since I didn't have cake flour, I found out how to convert regular flour into cake flour, too. Then I used the leftover vinegar/egg yolk/water from Baker's Secret Pie Crust on this website instead of plain water. Both Baker's Secret and Mom's turned out great - both were "my best" crusts yet. There's one in the freezer waiting to impress me all over again. And I can't wait to make more. My friend who was a pastry chef for years told me to not let anyone tell me I'm not a pie maker. Then she had another piece of pumpkin pie. I'm thinking it's the technique from Mom's that helped me accomplish them both. I'll be trying both again soon. I can't blame our 6500 feet altitude any more. Thank you to Carolealana and Debra Shapiro for both of these recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Great flaky pie crust! Will never use store bought again. I did end up using about 1 cup of water instead of 1/3 cup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is a great pie crust. I have always had trouble rolling out dough for a crust - it just never works for me. Well, let me tell you - this dough didn't give me any trouble at all. Both of them rolled out great and came out beautifully too. I used them for a pumpkin pie and a chocolate pie...yum. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I have always bought store bought crusts, I've never been good at making crust, EVER. This was an easy recipe, and it turned out great, now I just need to buy a rolling pin and I'd be in business... haha Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Cvek Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is my go-to pie crust recipe. It's helped me to get over my fear of homemade crusts. Perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by .michaela.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
just don't over knead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHay82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Really good, flaky crust. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Charlotte
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This recipe was ready in no time and easy to knead and roll out after chilling! I used whole wheat flour for a healthier pie crust. It isn't very sweet tasting, even though sugar was added, so it can go to a sweet or savory pie. This is easy, convienient, and I'm never buying pie crust again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Cooked very well...very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States