Mom's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Charlotte
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
This recipe was ready in no time and easy to knead and roll out after chilling! I used whole wheat flour for a healthier pie crust. It isn't very sweet tasting, even though sugar was added, so it can go to a sweet or savory pie. This is easy, convienient, and I'm never buying pie crust again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Cooked very well...very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
this is a great recipe... ive made it twice now.. and froze one to use for another dish.. tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is THE BEST PIE CRUST EVER. I didn't have shortening, was looking for a recipe calling for butter. I'll use this from now on. Thank you Debra (and your Mom) for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I added a little more water than recommended and freezed the dough overnight. I also did not touch the dough with my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constance_nguyen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Maywood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
I have tried several different crust recipes, this is by far the best!! Other reviews stated crust was good even after freezing. IT IS!! Pulled a frozen crust out and used it and it rolled and tasted as if I had made it that day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
It was good but sweet. Best for a dessert and not a quiche or meat dish. I halved for shell only and still had plenty left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This was the first pie crust I've ever had come out right! I used it for a chicken pot pie so I left out the sugar. It came out nice and crispy and browned nicely. The texture was nice and flaky and it didn't taste floury. I'll be using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have NEVER made a pie crust before, but this was ssssoooooooooo easy to make. After cutting in the butter with the paddle beater for my mixer, I changed the beater to the dough beater and continued mixing until it formed a ball. Like I said...ssssssssssooooo easy! I made this crust to make a homemade chicken pot pie and had just enough crust left over to make two individual apple pies! The crust was GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frog's Recipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This pie crust recipe is wonderful! It will definitely be a dependable recipe for me in the future, thanks so much Debra! The amount of dough it yielded was plenty, especially for the pumpkin pie I used it for, since that kind doesn't need to get covered. I did have to use another couple tablespoons of ice water. I might also use a pinch of salt next time for a bit of a pop of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States