Mom's Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Did not like this pie crust. It needs salt and you can skip the sugar. It was tough. I will go back to the regular shortening pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
this is a fantastic recipe I will continue to use and share this with my family and friends it was easy and worked out very well I did not have regular flour so I used whole wheat and it came out great thank you so much for an easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This pie crust is SO simple and SO delicious! It's the perfect crust for any pie. I'm a huge fan of how easy it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I used salted butter (that is what I had on hand) and more water. Worked beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
Easy pie crust!! After kneading dough into a ball set in fridge to cool. It will make it easier to roll out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
My family is really picky about their pastry. I have rarely been able to make a pie crust that makes everyone happy. They usually fail. I made this the other night for chicken pot pie. My husband, cousin and my children raved about it. My husband went on telling me I have to use this recipe for everything I make requiring pastry dough. I think it was a hit. It has become my 'go-to' pastry recipe. So easy, and never fails!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I wanted a crust with butter as I do not use shortening or lard anymore. This was incredibly flaky and tasty. The recipe as written is a generous full pie - it was actually too much for a lattice top, but perhaps I can scale down next time. Recommended!! ***UPDATE: Sorry, I guess I am going back to using shortening or lard, as this has disappointed me twice now. It needed WAY more water than called for and it was really tough. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
I was so glad to find a recipe that uses butter instead of shortening. This crust has a great taste, good texture, and was very easy to work with. This is my new go to recipe for pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
So easy and so good! I had to sub some Jiffy Mix for flour as I ran out and it still came out amazingly good! I'm more of a cook then a baker so measuring things is not really my forte but even with my little miscalculations this crust came out soo wonderfully delicious for my spinach quiche :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmerZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States