Mom's Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe worked well for me and I have a fear of peanut brittle--it never worked for me before. My first batch scorched slightly but still tasted good. I doubled the recipe for the second batch and cooked it to just slightly above the soft-crack-stage; turned out perfect! I think many have forgotten that this recipe reads to add the peanuts and butter at the soft-ball-stage and then continue to cook. If you do not bring this to at least the soft-crack stage then add the vanilla and soda mixture it will not set up. Good stuff! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
wow this was my first time making Peanut brittle and everyone loved it, thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Jabs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Delicious!!! On my first batch I didn't know what to expect so I over used the butter and under used the peanuts, Next batch though I doubled the peanuts and left the butter to just what I greased the pan with...PERFECTION!!!! My husband and kids will have it all gone by the time the holidays even start, which is fine because it was a cinch to make! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I've made 4 batches of this recipe today and each one has been a winner. I did add more peanuts after the first batch, but I followed the recipe exactly as written and used a candy thermometer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. After looking at all the rest, I decide to try this one, and we sure are glad we did. It is so easy and delicious. My husband and I have made it for the past 4 years every christmas and give it out as gifts. Our family and neighbors look forward to it every Christmas. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
If you add popcorn to the mixture when it is being boiled, it tastes great! Just roll the popcorn into balls about the size of a small apple and let it dry. My class loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
SUPERB!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Easy to make! Second time to make brittle (First (diff recipe) turned in to peanut soup instead of brittle). Will MAke again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Borger, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This was my first attempt at peanut brittle. It is awsome!!! My family loved it. The only thing I did different was to cook it to 300 degrees on candy thermometer( after reading other reviews). This isso good. Thanks for sharing your recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Thank you for posting this recipe! It reminds me of my mom's just like she made when I was young! This was my first attempt at brittle, so I learned a few things! You really do need to keep your eyes on brittle! I slightly scorched the peanuts when I turned to the sink for only 2 seconds! However, people told me it was better that way, because they hate when the peanuts are still raw! So I guess my oops turned into a success! I did add a bit more peanuts, and didn't use a thermometer, but it turned out excellent. (Don't worry, the candy thermometer is on my Christmas list!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States