Mom's Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
A great peanut brittle recipe. However, the recipe needs one little correction. Boiling the sugar, water and corn syrup to the "hard ball" stage makes a sticky, chewy candy. Heating to 300F degrees creates a more traditional peanut brittle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
The trick is to let it get golden brown for that buttery, caramel flavour. We made several batches, tinkering with the proportions to get the taste and texture just right (for us!) Peanuts 1 1/3 cups, 3/8 tsp sea salt, 3 tbsp real butter and we decreased the baking soda to 3/4 tsp. We prefered batches that were fork-teased. The result was tender, buttery and not too foamy. I also found adding peanuts a little later - two or three minutes after syrup had come to a bubbling boil - helped prevent the nuts from becoming too toasty. Also fabulous with whole almonds. Thanks to all above reviewers, you helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
One of 2 very similar recipes on here. Combine the instructions together for best results. I used 1C of peanuts and would use more next time. When you add the peanuts the temperature will drop, resist the temptation to crank up the setting on your stove. Mixture will shortly return to temp and begin climbing. I think where most have problems is they cook on too high of a setting. After adding peanuts, continue cooking until it reaches 300 degrees (until it is "light brown" is too vague for me when making candy). Until water initially boils off, temperature will climb rather slowly (this is NORMAL for all candy making), just have to give it a few minutes. Recipe says to cover for 3 min. but I don't see that matters, the whole point of the initial cooking is to boil off the water. Certainly recommend a candy thermometer for best/most consistent results since that ice water method is very imprecise unless you have extensive candy making experience. Would also be great with other types of nuts (i.e. almonds or cashews). Pour hot mixture on lightly buttered aluminum foil, let sit until cool then break into desired size pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
This was my first attempt at making peanut brittle, and it turned out great! I always use a candy thermometer, and had read on another recipe to cook it to 300 degrees. I did that for this recipe, and it turned out with just the correct amount of brittleness. It's buttery and sugary...tastes wonderful. Next time, I will add a few more peanuts, but I really love the brittle just as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORR4824

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
YUM~! this is the first time i've made peanut brittle.. very good and easy.. thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom of 3 boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Castle, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Delicious!!! On my first batch I didn't know what to expect so I over used the butter and under used the peanuts, Next batch though I doubled the peanuts and left the butter to just what I greased the pan with...PERFECTION!!!! My husband and kids will have it all gone by the time the holidays even start, which is fine because it was a cinch to make! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Maybe I did something wrong I don't know I have never tried to make hard candy before but I thought this was the one since I did not have a candy thermometer. I followed the directions plus cooked it for another 12 min. that is how long it took to get to hard ball stage. I ended up with a very chewy candy. Needless to say I bought a candy thermometer. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe worked well for me and I have a fear of peanut brittle--it never worked for me before. My first batch scorched slightly but still tasted good. I doubled the recipe for the second batch and cooked it to just slightly above the soft-crack-stage; turned out perfect! I think many have forgotten that this recipe reads to add the peanuts and butter at the soft-ball-stage and then continue to cook. If you do not bring this to at least the soft-crack stage then add the vanilla and soda mixture it will not set up. Good stuff! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RobinPickles
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
First try on peanut brittle here... its fantastic!!! I used one cup of peanuts, and poured the final batter onto a silpat. its perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I'm only giving 4 stars because I forgot to take the advice of others and bring the sugar up to 300 degrees (hard crack stage). My peanut brittle, although very tastey, is really sticky. I had to put it outside on the ice to get it to set so I could break it up. I have to eat it very carefully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States