Mom's Peanut Brittle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was my first time making peanut brittle and I followed the advice of other readers and added 1 cup of peanuts, used a candy therm. and cooked it to 300 degrees. Well, this batch I had to throw away! It started burning before it ever got to 300 and there were far to many peanuts...So I adjusted the temp. and added the butter and 3/4 cup of peanuts to the sugar at 250 degrees. I pulled it from the heat at 275 degrees and added the baking soda/salt/vanilla and water, stirred quickly and poured it out on the buttered pan. The peanut brittle is perfect, but I can only give this recipe 4 stars because the lack of details such as what to set the heat at to cook the sugars ( I chose medium/high).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
So yummy! I had never made this before and Iam amazed at how easy it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
my candy turned out good and the taste was excellant. but when I put in my baking soda at the end of the cooking process the candy started sweeling up over the top of the pan. it just kept boinling over and over, the next time I put it in a large pan so it wouldn't boil all over the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
great recipe I will make this every christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Yum! I would've given this 5 stars, except that I took other reviewers' alterations and doubled the peanuts and cooked it to 300 -- without those changes, I don't think it would be nearly as good. But WITH those changes, fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I'm sure after reading the other reviews that I did something wrong. I have a chewy, teeth removing mixture. Cover me, I'm going back in for another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
After burning a batch of the "easy microwave" kind, I reverted to the tried and true stovetop method. After burning another batch at the sugar stage (gotta watch it close and keep stirring), I successfully made my first batch of awesome, buttery peanut brittle. The only modification I made was to heat to the 300 degree stage. Sounded like a winner to me to avoid pulling fillings out. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RobinPickles
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
First try on peanut brittle here... its fantastic!!! I used one cup of peanuts, and poured the final batter onto a silpat. its perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I've made 4 batches of this recipe today and each one has been a winner. I did add more peanuts after the first batch, but I followed the recipe exactly as written and used a candy thermometer. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Thank you for posting this recipe! It reminds me of my mom's just like she made when I was young! This was my first attempt at brittle, so I learned a few things! You really do need to keep your eyes on brittle! I slightly scorched the peanuts when I turned to the sink for only 2 seconds! However, people told me it was better that way, because they hate when the peanuts are still raw! So I guess my oops turned into a success! I did add a bit more peanuts, and didn't use a thermometer, but it turned out excellent. (Don't worry, the candy thermometer is on my Christmas list!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littleb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Peanut Brittle

Discover the tricks to making simple, 5-star peanut brittle.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States