Mom's Oatmeal Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
My husband and I loved these! Don't know what the "too runny" thing is about... Here are the things I did a little differently: 1- I mixed the batter and let it sit while I heated the pan; 2- I used a whisk to beat the eggs into the batter; 3- I dropped the frozen blueberries into the batter after I had poured the batter into the frying pan - I didn't add them to the batter in the bowl. Don't know what was the trick - but these were delicious and we'll be making them again. Thanks for a _wonderful_ Sunday morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
The batter was so thin..I ended up adding about 1/4 cup more flour, and letting it sit for about 30 minutes. The oats kind of sucked up the liquid, and it was much more manageable that way. They were very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2000
Hmmm. Maybe I did something wrong but they were too thin and I had to add extra flour. They were a bit doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
Far too much milk, batter was soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My entire family RAVES about these pancakes. They request them all the time. We use quick cook oats and let the batter sit few a few minutes to thicken up before cooking and have never had any issues with runny batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
I should have read over the reviews a little more carefully before I made this. I'm a little more than irritated. I know about making pancakes with oatmeal, that when you make the batter, you've got to let it sit a little before pouring it on the griddle so I thought this was the issue when I read through the other reviews. I let this sit for twenty minutes and it had puffed up but wasn't really soaking up the wet ingredients. I did add 1 tsp. of vanilla to the wet ingredients but that wouldn't make this much of a difference in how wet the pancake batter was. I folded in another 1/2 c. of oatmeal and 3/4 c. of flour before I could get it firm enough to not spread all over the liquid and make a pancake. Luckily, the pancakes didn't turn out tough. I did drop blueberries onto each pancake after spooning it on the griddle instead of putting them inside the batter. The flavor of these were good, it's just a pain in the behind to get it to the right consistancy. I think that if you let the batter sit overnight, you might be about right with the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
These were very different from the pancakes I am used to but AWESOME! My son who is 2 just loved them. Of course he was blue from his fingers to his elbows annd from his lips to his eyebrows, but it is worth it! If you make the bayyer and let it sit for about 10 minutes, it sets very well! We eat these almost every weekend now!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEENBEAN

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These were decent pancakes -- kinda in the middle of the pancake road. It probably helped that I ground 1 3/4 cup oats to yield the required 1 1/2 cups; it seemed to absorb some of the excess liquid other reviewers were trying to combat. And while these did have that preferred pancake 'bounce and fluff', they were just a little lackluster in the taste department (other than the bites containing a juicy berry) -- increasing the sugar or adding some vanilla might have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Basic recipe was very good - I mixed the oatmeal and buttermilk and let it stand for 10 minutes. Beat the eggs slightly before adding with the remaining ingredients. Also added 2 tablespoons of oil, a big dash of cinnamon. Result was excellent and not at all runny. Will double recipe next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I loved them. I halved the recipe to make 2 servings, and I doubled the sugar and added 1 tsp vanilla. The batter was a little runny, but the pancakes were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States