Mom's Oatmeal Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
I used quick cooking oats, and the batter was still very runny, even after allowing to sit about 10 minutes. I added buttermilk pancake mix. Next time I would add the blueberries in the pan....if there is a next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by empebi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
These tastied very good but they were very hard to make. They were a little to runny to flip so we had to add extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oureatinghabits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
My entire family RAVES about these pancakes. They request them all the time. We use quick cook oats and let the batter sit few a few minutes to thicken up before cooking and have never had any issues with runny batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I made these yesterday and they were the WORST! Very runny consistency and they burned before they were ready to be flipped.. if that was possible. Do not make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
A little bland, but really healthy and good for you! I altered the recipe just a tad to offset the blandness by adding 1 tablespoon of brown sugar + 1/2 tablespoon or more white sugar (or splenda) and 1/2 teaspoon of Vanilla extract. Also the batter came out a bit runny so I recommend adding up to 1/2 c. of 100% whole wheat flour, I also threw in some wheat germ (about 1/4 c. or less). Will make this again b/c I love the healthy whole grains!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Added more cinnamon and flour. There a great change from the ordinary pancake. Great for a snack even cold without syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belfair, Washington, USA
Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Basic recipe was very good - I mixed the oatmeal and buttermilk and let it stand for 10 minutes. Beat the eggs slightly before adding with the remaining ingredients. Also added 2 tablespoons of oil, a big dash of cinnamon. Result was excellent and not at all runny. Will double recipe next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
The recipe was tasty, but I agree with those who said the batter was thin. I added a bit of baking powder to help it thicken up in the bowl. The pancakes did ultimately have a good consistency. I used old-fashioned rolled oats, and substituted low-fat milk for half of the buttermilk since I only had one cup of buttermilk left in the fridge. I wonder - did the original poster and some of the reviewers use quick-cooking rolled oats? That would absorb the liquid faster and possibly contribute to our wide differences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
My husband and I loved these! Don't know what the "too runny" thing is about... Here are the things I did a little differently: 1- I mixed the batter and let it sit while I heated the pan; 2- I used a whisk to beat the eggs into the batter; 3- I dropped the frozen blueberries into the batter after I had poured the batter into the frying pan - I didn't add them to the batter in the bowl. Don't know what was the trick - but these were delicious and we'll be making them again. Thanks for a _wonderful_ Sunday morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
Made these for my visiting Mom and husband. They were too runny. I think directions need something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States