Mom's Oatmeal Blueberry Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Love this recipe. I let batter set for 30-60 mins and add 1 more egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bruce, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by westcoastmom
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I think the submitter meant to use quick oats and not regular rolled oats. But this is easily fixed by soaking the oats in the buttermilk first. I soaked the oats for 1/2 an hour in half the buttermilk. And when I added everything else I just added extra flour until I got the consistency I liked (I like thinner pancakes) I used a porridge oat blend that has flax seeds, wheat germ, oat bran and large flaked oats. It definitely helped to soak them first so everything softened. This could be a 5 star raving recipe if the proper oats were specified in the ingredients, or if the instructions called for soaking first. So with that, I'll give it 4 stars because the whole family loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Yeah I've tried these by making them and they turned out REALLY good! They were great and my mom loved them! (I fixed them for Mothers Day) lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was a major fail...Batter was way too loose, the oatmeal clumped in the middle while the batter ran all over. I put it in a small fry pan to help keep it all together which helped but they still tasted horrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Overall flavour is good. I agree with other reviewers, batter is way too liquidy. I had to more than double the flour, after letting the batter sit for 15 minutes. Next time I would cut the milk in half to start and then add if necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Gave this recipe 3 stars as is. I do think oatmeal has a great flavor and this recipe could be great if tweaked. Mix oatmeal and milk and heat in microwave for one minute. Then add the rest of the ingredients, including an additional 1/4 to 1/2 cup flour, whole wheat flour or flax meal. If you don't have buttermilk, add 1 TBSP lemon juice to milk and let sit for 5 minutes before adding to oatmeal. Enjoy finding your own yummy pancakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I really like this recipe ! I love oatmeal ! I did make a few changes, I used whole wheat flour, fried pancakes in very small amount of bacon grease and added toasted pecans; I didn't have blueberries, much to my dismay, because I would have added both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Sullivan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Sorry didn't like these at all! I followed the recipe exactly ...every thing mixed up well & the pancakes looked like pancakes but they tasted like an oatmeal egg & blueberry omelette :( wasn't happy... tasted more like eggs then any thing else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I had to add two very large spoonfuls of flour to thicken this up, but after that it was good. I liked that there's so little sugar. It allowed the blueberries to be the main points of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I tweaked this formula a bit . . .took out 1/2 cup oats, added 1/2 cup whear germ, used brown sugar in place of white sugar, used 6 oz. yogurt and balance of 1% milk to replace 2 cups buttermilk. Pancakes were fabulous! Yes, a bit loose/runny batter - but the batter worked fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GanacheGuy

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States