Mom's Nova Scotia Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I always load my Chowder with any type of fresh fish... lots of lobster and scallops! I like to add lemon and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Very delicious. I tweaked it a bit to my liking using less water and adding clam juice. I also removed the veggies before adding the seafood and puree'd them with the heavy cream and half & half because I love a more smooth and creamy texture. My family really enjoyed it. Will definitely make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
it is a bit pricy to make i elim. the lobster doubled up on the crab to save a bit it was still real good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Delicious! I did lighten it up considerably by using Almond Milk instead of all the heavy cream and half & half. I also added some Old Bay seasoning and only half the butter called for. This is just due to my personal preference. And I know chowder purists would disagree, but personally, I would much rather sacrifice a bit of richness to save all the fat and calories. Due to using the Almond Milk, I did need to thicken it a bit with corn starch, but it truly was scrumptious and a real keeper!! Next time, I think I will throw in some corn and some celery - yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
its very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jena6968
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Was so GOOD!! Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
All I can say is...GOD BLESS NOVA SCOTIA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KMARTELL
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My wife and I were searching for a Seafood Chowder base when we (independently) came across this one. It's an awesome starting point, but we did tweak it a bit along the way. We added a stalk celery, sliced; approximately 1/2 tablespoon of cayenne pepper (we like it spicy); and some mussels.! We also used a bit of Flour/Water mixture for thickening. It was delicious, and will certainly be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was a huge hit. We used ingredients that were available and it was really tasty. Read comments, but stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was the best soup! I used catfish that my husband had caught instead of the tilapia (you could really use anything) I also added some Cajun seasoning and some old bay. I put the veggies and potatoes in a pot with 1 carton of chicken broth instead of the water and cooked until soft. So I just kept all of the chicken broth instead of dumping out half a pan of water, then added the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States