Mom's Nova Scotia Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
I have made this recipe several times, it is excellent! I use different variations of fish - its the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I do the "throw er' in" method. Doesn't mateer what fillets you have, or wether you have crab or lobster, I use shrimp, mussles, scallops. Whatever I find on sale, Save it up and make 'er! Use your taste buds. It is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Ridiculously good! I substituted crawfish tails for the lobster and added a few stalks of chopped celery. Topped off each bowl with some sea salt, black pepper and cayenne pepper. This will definitely be a regular dish during the winter months in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TruckTruckGoose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
I added corn and bacon. Excellent recipe. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beverachi
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Outstanding! I use 2 lbs of of all the seafood plus 2 qt of heavy cream and 2 qt of half & half in a 16 qt stock pot. I make this every Christmas Eve for our family. Let it sit overnight in the fridge and it is so so delicious the next day. Thank goodness I live in Maine on the ocean where seafood is cheap...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I always load my Chowder with any type of fresh fish... lots of lobster and scallops! I like to add lemon and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Parker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Very delicious. I tweaked it a bit to my liking using less water and adding clam juice. I also removed the veggies before adding the seafood and puree'd them with the heavy cream and half & half because I love a more smooth and creamy texture. My family really enjoyed it. Will definitely make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
it is a bit pricy to make i elim. the lobster doubled up on the crab to save a bit it was still real good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Bognanni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Delicious! I did lighten it up considerably by using Almond Milk instead of all the heavy cream and half & half. I also added some Old Bay seasoning and only half the butter called for. This is just due to my personal preference. And I know chowder purists would disagree, but personally, I would much rather sacrifice a bit of richness to save all the fat and calories. Due to using the Almond Milk, I did need to thicken it a bit with corn starch, but it truly was scrumptious and a real keeper!! Next time, I think I will throw in some corn and some celery - yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
its very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States