Mom's Nova Scotia Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is so good. I omitted the scallops and the crab out of preference. Will use a fish other than cod next time. Added a little fresh lemon juice and cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Wow, and more wow. I only made half, but this has to be one of the best chowders I ever tasted and made. Next time though, I will add more salmon for the simple reason I like salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Totally Awesome!!! Hit with everyone in the house. My son asked why I have never made this in his life time before, HA. Improvised a little; oysters instead of scallops/clams; purple onions, celery and corn for color; used condensed milk for the half-n-half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This is very similar to the recipe my mother makes (also east-coaster). She doesn't use crab but essentially subsitutes the amount of crab for more lobster. She also only uses haddock not cod and salmon and only uses 10% cream. Additionally, she uses cold water shrimp and puts them in with the veggies to cook. Finally, she adds a pinch or two of curry powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
delish! took the fat content down a whack by using milk and half and half. still great. even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
"Best chowder you've made so far." touted my husband. Loved how creamy it was. Added parsley, garlic powder, and corn. Also added bacon as another reviewer suggested. I didn't have all of the seafood but even with razor clams, oysters, and small shrimp, was still yummy. Can't wait to try it with fresh salmon, cod and crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clallam Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I loved this recipe. AS the writer said throw'er in...I used all the ingredients i had....no lobster or clams...but had sole and prawns... I especially loved this recipe for its ease of use and flexibility. I didn't skimp on the butter either...YUMM!!!! It doesn't need any changes. It is fabulous as it is. Nice though that you can make it your own. It is a great starting off point for many a yummy soup/chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I loved this recipe. It is so flexible we add the seafood we love and a fresh bun and this is supper with my husband and I fighting for leftovers the next day. Thank you so much for posting Mom love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Loved this chowder. I added a little spice though.. Onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, cayenne and tarragon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Wow! So rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States