Mom's Nova Scotia Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Wife is from Pictou County, NS and loves her seafood chowder...I'm from the west coast and inherently love seafood as well...this recipe is the best out of the three I've tried...must admit that I cut down on the heavy cream and half and half, added a bit more water with some cornstarch to give it a thicker, smoother texture...heavenly...thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
"Best chowder you've made so far." touted my husband. Loved how creamy it was. Added parsley, garlic powder, and corn. Also added bacon as another reviewer suggested. I didn't have all of the seafood but even with razor clams, oysters, and small shrimp, was still yummy. Can't wait to try it with fresh salmon, cod and crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clallam Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Loved this chowder. I added a little spice though.. Onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, cayenne and tarragon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I loved this recipe. It is so flexible we add the seafood we love and a fresh bun and this is supper with my husband and I fighting for leftovers the next day. Thank you so much for posting Mom love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I loved this recipe. AS the writer said throw'er in...I used all the ingredients i had....no lobster or clams...but had sole and prawns... I especially loved this recipe for its ease of use and flexibility. I didn't skimp on the butter either...YUMM!!!! It doesn't need any changes. It is fabulous as it is. Nice though that you can make it your own. It is a great starting off point for many a yummy soup/chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I made this exactly as the recipe called for. It is an expensive dish to make here. I found that you really need to measure the liquids out, as it was too 'liquidy' even after I drained off the water. The cooking time was a bit too long also. I love seafood chowder and even though this was good, I've had much better. Are you sure there's no thickening? After supper, I did drain off again half the liquid and I'm sure it will be much better now. I know you saiud your measures are 'approximate' but even so....we had to 'fish' for the seafood in the liquid. I've also noticed in your picture there is corn, the recipe never called for corn....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Simply amazing!!!! Thanks Mom!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I'm making seafood chowder for the second time now. The first batch was AWESOME!! and I loosely followed this recipe. I loved the recipe's commitment to the, "throw 'er in the pot!" philosophy. I subbed 1/2 & 1/2 cream for whole cream. I omitted Salmon, and being on the Canadian prairie, I had to use a combination of fresh, frozen, and even canned, products. Luckily fresh is available, but at a cost. This is a great recipe for delicious seafood chowder. I'm looking forward to this second pot. mmmm mmmm mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This is so good. I omitted the scallops and the crab out of preference. Will use a fish other than cod next time. Added a little fresh lemon juice and cajun seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
This is very similar to the recipe my mother makes (also east-coaster). She doesn't use crab but essentially subsitutes the amount of crab for more lobster. She also only uses haddock not cod and salmon and only uses 10% cream. Additionally, she uses cold water shrimp and puts them in with the veggies to cook. Finally, she adds a pinch or two of curry powder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States