Mom's Nova Scotia Seafood Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jena6968
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Was so GOOD!! Thanks for the fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
All I can say is...GOD BLESS NOVA SCOTIA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KMARTELL
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
My wife and I were searching for a Seafood Chowder base when we (independently) came across this one. It's an awesome starting point, but we did tweak it a bit along the way. We added a stalk celery, sliced; approximately 1/2 tablespoon of cayenne pepper (we like it spicy); and some mussels.! We also used a bit of Flour/Water mixture for thickening. It was delicious, and will certainly be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
This was a huge hit. We used ingredients that were available and it was really tasty. Read comments, but stuck to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Fort Pierce, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was the best soup! I used catfish that my husband had caught instead of the tilapia (you could really use anything) I also added some Cajun seasoning and some old bay. I put the veggies and potatoes in a pot with 1 carton of chicken broth instead of the water and cooked until soft. So I just kept all of the chicken broth instead of dumping out half a pan of water, then added the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Wife is from Pictou County, NS and loves her seafood chowder...I'm from the west coast and inherently love seafood as well...this recipe is the best out of the three I've tried...must admit that I cut down on the heavy cream and half and half, added a bit more water with some cornstarch to give it a thicker, smoother texture...heavenly...thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
"Best chowder you've made so far." touted my husband. Loved how creamy it was. Added parsley, garlic powder, and corn. Also added bacon as another reviewer suggested. I didn't have all of the seafood but even with razor clams, oysters, and small shrimp, was still yummy. Can't wait to try it with fresh salmon, cod and crab.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clallam Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Loved this chowder. I added a little spice though.. Onion powder, garlic powder, paprika, cayenne and tarragon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
I loved this recipe. It is so flexible we add the seafood we love and a fresh bun and this is supper with my husband and I fighting for leftovers the next day. Thank you so much for posting Mom love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I loved this recipe. AS the writer said throw'er in...I used all the ingredients i had....no lobster or clams...but had sole and prawns... I especially loved this recipe for its ease of use and flexibility. I didn't skimp on the butter either...YUMM!!!! It doesn't need any changes. It is fabulous as it is. Nice though that you can make it your own. It is a great starting off point for many a yummy soup/chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States