Mom's Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
This recipe I was delicious and different! I mostly followed this recipes, except I replaced the ground beef with ground mexican chorizo, which added some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Made this many times and family loves it. Instead of jalapeños (too hot) substituted about 1/4 c of Pace picante sauce spooned over meat and chopped onion then remaining meat and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I have used this recipe for years, but never put it together like that. I use canned chopped green chili's. The meat and cheese are the middle. 1/2 the batter on bottom and top. Bake about the same, 50-55 minutes. Delicious served with homemade salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe twice. The first time I used Jiffy cornbread mix and "Rotel" drained. Turned out great and hands up with two high school seniors. The next time I followed the entire recipe except two things: I used not fresh but pickled jalapeno's as I always have them in fridge. I did layer part of it as someone suggested, for me the layering does not work, it does not mix well. I think this is a great recipe and will continue to use it. Thank you Snowy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I have made this so many times and we love it. The only thing I have done differently was mix an envelope of Taco Season Mix with the ground beef when I cook it. I usually cook it an hour or so ahead and let the meat soak up the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klbarr55
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is just how my Grandmother used to make Mexican Cornbread. All the way down to the beans on the side. Ive adjusted to meet my husband's taste. I add a little cayenne to the cornbread mix and always extra peppers, but he likes spicy! Thanks*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Campbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
My daughter and the dog (took the jalapenos out for him) liked it. I used flour in my cornbread mix. I also used cumin and chili powder in my ground turkey and I also used used stewed tomatoes in my bread. I enjoyed it but I think I should not have used ground met it was king of heavy to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I made this on New Year's Day and followed the recipe precisely. It was delicious and I got rave reviews from my friends! They loved it! They were still stopping by 2 days later for more!! I'm about to make another batch. This time I'm using whole kernel yellow corn, more cheese and more jalapenos for a little extra heat. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
My family loved it! I will be making this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
This is an authentic TexMex recipe, much like the one I grew up with. I changed it quite a bit and thought it was awesome. I brown the gr.beef with onion, 1/4 - 1/2 red bell, chopped fine, 3-5 chopped jals., 1-4 oz. can green chilis, and a good sprinkle of Grill Mates Southwest dry seasoning; then thoroughly drain grease & liquid. All else is the same. Also, my oven runs hot, so I checked in 45 mins, and appeared, in all tests, to be done. After it cooled 30 mins. or so and I cut into serving pieces, it appeared to be a bit undercooked, so next time, I will cook an extra 5-7 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States