Mom's Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
This recipe is very good and easy to make with a few changes: used 1/2 tsp of garlic salt; omitted marjoram; used 1/2 cup of oatmeal in lieu of bread crumps and for glaze use 1/2 cup of chili sauce instead. Makes 2 loaves and frozed one for later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
this meat loaf is very easy and the best I have ever made! love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I love this meatloaf! This is the best meatloaf I had ever tasted thus far! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made this a few nights ago and my husband said it was by far the best meatloaf he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This is similar to how I make it, but I use a can of tomato soup instead of tomato sauce. It is the best I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webberville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Williamston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
For a meatloaf, this was great - possibly the best I've had. My hubby proclaimed it was "a hit" after our kids consumed most of it (my 14 yr old had triple helpings). I didn't really make any changes, just a few necessary ones. I didn't have saltines, so I used bread crumbs. Also, I had quite a bit of left-over tomato sauce (had the 15 oz size can rather 8 oz), so I mixed half tom. sauce with a good amount of catchup and added another Tbs of corn syrup to match. Ultimately, I suspect the quantities added up to the original recipe as I didn't use the entire glaze. Also, I baked until the meat reached 155 or so degrees for about 40 minutes (glazed after 30 minutes) and let rest for an additional 10 minutes. Came out perfectly moist. Served this with mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. Family was fully satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Great recipe. It tastes just like the meatloaf our parents made. My Husband wouldn't have it any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy V
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
After battling cancer this year, I have had to change the way I eat. Instead of 2 pounds of ground beef, I used 1 pound of ground chuck and 1 pound of ground turkey. Great meatloaf! I made a few substitutions and added some garlic and worchestershire sauce. Instead of regular tomato sauce, I used tomato sauce seasoned for meatloaf. The topping, I used regular mustard and honey, and did not add the thyme. I will be making again! For a side, try the Sweet and Savory Kale recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Pipe Creek, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I tried this recipe and tweaked it a little here and there based on what I had in the house. My family LOVED this meatloaf recipe and I have now thrown out the recipe I've made for 23 years and replaced it with this (with my tweaks). As a plus, my husband doesn't generally like when I make meatloaf because it gives him heartburn EVERY SINGLE TIME. When I made this meatloaf he was so excited that he never got heartburn -- not that night or the next day. Just an added plus. Both of my teenaged sons loved this as well. Instead of the corn syrup I used honey and I believe the sweetness of that made all the difference with how much we liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States